Kitty Lambert’s Wedding

February 12, 2010 at 10:29 am 131 comments

By Andy Kelley

[Note from Julia: Andy is the Courage Campaign’s amazing intern, please welcome him for his first blog post.]

It has been just over 2 months since the New York Legislature failed to pass same sex-marriage. Yet Kitty Lambert remains unwavering in her pursuit of full equality. Upon being denied a marriage license for her and her partner on Wednesday, Kitty Lambert, in a bold act of civil not-so-disobedience, turned to a complete stranger and proposed marriage to him.

As YNN Buffalo reports:

In a symbolic measure, a same-sex couple applied for a marriage license at City Hall Wednesday. When they were denied, gay marriage advocate Kitty Lambert found a man she had never met and applied for a marriage license with him. She says she did it to prove a point.

“Our point is, for $40, I can come in and purchase a marriage license with a total stranger. But all these years with the same woman and I still can’t get a marriage license. What is the senate thinking?” asked Lambert.

Kitty’s story is one of dedication to full equality. It is the next step in her lifelong pursuit of basic fairness and protection for her family. Perhaps that’s why it is so moving. It cuts through the clutter of words to the core of what marriage equality is about: dignity, respect, and that every family matters.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Assuming Bias: Judge Walker’s sexuality Words Matter: Homosexual vs. gay/lesbian

131 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:35 am

    I love it!…….I love Hype!!!!…… Welcome Andy……<3…Ronnie

    Reply
  • 2. Richard W. Fitch  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Good for her (them)!! From another report it said the young man was also gay. How ironic! A gay man and a lesbian who are complete strangers can marry each other but neither of them are able to marry the person they love.

    Reply
  • 3. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Amen on that one, Andy! EVERY FAMILY IS IMPORTANT! EVERY FAMILY MATTERS!! I truly hope Kitty Lambert is able to get a marriage license to marry her wife instead of having to get one to marry a stranger. And yet the Prop 8 fols say it is “all about the children!” Bovinus Turdus!

    Reply
    • 4. Sheryl  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:49 pm

      Ah, but Richard, it is all about children, love doesn’t matter. Hasn’t it been drilled into us that the purpose of marriage is procreation. Kitty and the stranger would be able to procreate TOGETHER. So, in the thinking of the Pro 8 group, it’s a perfect match. We can rank it right up their with the sanctity of those weekend marriages.

      Reply
      • 5. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm

        That’s because the Pro Prop h8ers DON’T think. They just blindly follow the warped misintrerpretations of the Bible that their “leaders” spew out to them and that is what they go by. These are the same kind of people who had galileo placed on permanent house arrest for inventing a telesope tht enabled him to see even more of God’s wonderful creation. Also, if love doesn’t have anything to do with it, then why are there so many songs that deal explicitly with love and the great way it makes you feel? And as I understand the Bible, the things God loves were the things he/she/it sanctified. And that in and of itself sanctifies love.

        Reply
      • 6. Sheryl  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:51 pm

        Surely you couldn’t be thinking of things in the Bible like:

        Do unto others as ye would have others do unto you.
        or
        Love they neighbor as thyself.

        which leads me to believe the Pro Prop 8 groups doesn’t like themselves very much to treat their gay neighbors as they do.

        Reply
  • 7. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Dingbat here forgot to hit the subscribe button again!

    Reply
    • 8. Richard W. Fitch  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:40 am

      [{ just mark the boxes BEFORE you start your comment, it’s easier that way! ;-) }]

      Reply
  • 9. Andrea  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I love the smell of sanctity in the morning.

    Reply
    • 10. Marlene Bomer  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:38 pm

      You mean the same marriage sanctity Britany Spears had when she was married for 55 hours during one of her drunken binges?

      Reply
  • 11. John  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Because all that matters in a marriage is what’s between their legs.

    Reply
  • 12. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Welcome, Andy. :-)

    This article proves perfectly that the purpose behind Prop 8 and similar measures is not to “protect traditional marriage” at all. If someone can pull a person out of the crowd and obtain a marriage license simply because they are of the opposite gender, how does that “improve” marriage? If you ask me, *that* is what “cheapens the institution” (as the bumper-sticker sloganeers keep saying, but cannot ever explain) far more than a committed, loving couple marrying will ever do.

    /soapbox

    Love,
    Fiona

    Reply
  • 13. Paul  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Kitty…you are my hero today…and every day ! I only wish we could all band together and use our substantial collective voices and power to bring the system to a halt.
    We’re everywhere and we’re going to get it done !
    Congratulations to you both!!!
    Paul

    Reply
  • 14. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Ok so I’m going to post my re-write cover of “America” from Westside Story……..I call it “America” from Gayside Story…<3…Ronnie…….enjoy:

    The tiny closet
    My heart's devotion. Let it fill with couture and great fashion. Always the tiny space closing. Always the population growing, and the money owing, and the harassment streaming, and the bigots steaming. I like the wide open outlet, Dancing to be Free, and put that in!

    I like to be in America, Okay by me in America Everything free in America …………. For straightee in America.

    I have my own washing machine …………. What will you have though Free to keep clean?

    Skyscrapers bloom in America, Hybrids zoom in America, Technology boom in America …………….. Equality doomed for you in America.

    Lots of new housing with more space ………… Lots of doors slamming in your face.

    I'll get a terrace apartment …………… Better change up you deviant.

    Life can be bright in America ……………If you can fight in America.

    Life is all right in America …………………. If you're straight, rich and white in America.

    Here you are free and you have pride ……… Long as you stay on your own side.

    Free to worship anything that you choose …….. Free to marry the opposite or get the noose.

    Everywhere grime in America, Organized crime in America, Terrible time in America …………….. You forget I'm in America…..Ooooooooo!

    I think I'll go back to the Closet …………. I know a robe you can hide in..BYE! BYE!

    Everyone there will give big cheer! ………….. Everyone Gay will have moved here.

    Reply
    • 15. Straight Ally #3008  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:15 am

      *claps loudly*

      Reply
    • 16. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:56 am

      Gosh, this one gets me teary, every time I read it! Thanx for sharing it with us, Ronnie.

      Reply
      • 17. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:58 am

        Wecome…..<3…Ronnie

        Reply
  • 18. Shlee  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:48 am

    This is amazing. And sad. I hope this story spreads. I’m heading to Facebook to share it now. :0)

    Reply
  • 19. Maine Dave  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:52 am

    This is okay because those who want to “protect” marriage have never used the word “love.” Love is not a part of the equation-it’s about “doing it right” and marrying someone of the opposite sex to make children. I gave up on using the “love” angle a long time ago-it doesn’t speak to them.

    Dave in Maine

    Reply
    • 20. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:58 am

      Only those with love in their heart would understand why you would use that as an argument.

      Reply
      • 21. Lesbians Love Boies  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:10 am

        “Something in love between two people alone – is the key to what we must achieve in the world of eight billion. All of us must protect the right of all of us to make a life of love.”

        Reverend Billy

        Reply
      • 22. Dave T  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:23 pm

        “Only those with love in their heart …”

        And they’re probably already on our side.

        Reply
      • 23. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:43 pm

        True that!

        Reply
  • 24. Maine Dave  |  February 12, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Oops. I was actually replying to Richard W. Fitch’s post when saying “it’s okay.”

    Also, the stranger is gay? Why is he there?

    Dave in Maine

    Reply
    • 25. Richard W. Fitch  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:11 am

      Not sure if it was pre-planned. My guess is that the office does more than just issue marriage licenses and Ed was there for other reasons; although I admit it could well have been a setup.

      Reply
    • 26. Lesbians Love Boies  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:14 am

      Dave, there were many gay couples there requesting marriage licenses. This week and weekend it will be happening all over our country in protest.

      Reply
      • 27. Lesbians Love Boies  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:20 am

        This morning in New York

        http://lezgetreal.com/?p=26279&cpage=1

        Reply
      • 28. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:27 am

        This is the video that goes with the article that LLB posted:

        Reply
      • 29. Maine Dave  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:32 am

        Ahhh….I see. Yes, this sounds good. I’m sure it will make the point to some people who never really realized it in these terms.

        Dave

        Reply
  • 30. PDXAndrew  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Also a big ‘thank you’ to Ed, for stepping forth to marry Kitty. Kitty apparently had this planned, but I doubt Ed woke up that morning thinking ‘i’m going to go marry a lesbian today.’

    Love,
    Andrew

    Reply
    • 31. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:09 am

      I am sure they didn’t get married…..it seemed to me she was proving a point about marriage license issuance.

      Poignant point though!

      Reply
      • 32. PDXAndrew  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:15 am

        True, but it still took guts and the vid wouldn’t have been as good w/out his partipation.

        Love,
        Andrew

        Reply
  • 33. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:03 am

    If they haven’t heard it let’s show them and tell them how you truly measure a year in the life…..<3….Ronnie:

    Reply
    • 34. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:41 am

      Thanx, Ronnie – I love this one!

      Reply
    • 35. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:42 pm

      Thanks, Ronnie. Tat is great! And I guess this is the best place in this thread to post my Valentine’s Day Weekend contribution. And yes, Ronnie, if you can find the video, feel free to post that for me.

      In honor of the best that love has to offer, and for BenZion Jernigan, to whom I will be legally married once we get to Danbury, Connecticut, a song I first heard in 1988 that was released in 1990 and went to #1 on the country charts. Written by Tim O’Brien, and recorded as a duet between Kathy Mattea and Tim O’Brien, from Kathy’s Untasted Honey CD and her Collection of Hits CD, here is “Battle Hymn of Love.”

      I will pledge my heart to the love we share,
      Through the good and the bad times too.
      I’ll forsake my rest for your happiness;
      ‘Til my death I will stand by you.

      **CHORUS**

      With God as my witness, this vow I will make
      To have and to hold you, no other to take.
      For rich or for poor under skies grey or blue,
      ‘Til my death I will stand by you.

      There are wars and there are rumors of wars yet to come,
      Temptations we’ll have to walk through.
      Though others may tremble, I will not run;
      ‘Til my death I will stand by you.

      **BRIDGE**

      I will put on the armor of faithfulness to fight for a heart that is true.
      ‘Til the battle is won, I will not rest;
      ‘Til my death I will stand by you.

      **CHORUS**

      With God as my witness this vow I will make
      To have and to hold you no other to take;
      For rich or for poor, under skies grey or blue,
      ‘Til my death I will stand by you.

      **TAG**

      ‘Til the battle is won, I will not run!
      ‘Til my death I will stand by you!

      Doesn’t this show how much a same sex marriage is like a different sex marriage?

      BZ, I love you.

      Reply
    • 36. fiona64  |  February 13, 2010 at 3:32 pm

      The first time I heard this song, I bawled like an infant.

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
      • 37. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 13, 2010 at 5:12 pm

        Which one, “Seasons” fom “Rent” or the one I typed in the lyrics to below it? Ronnie’spost of the video was the frst tim Ihave ever heard “Seasons,” and I can understand how it would move someone to tears.

        Reply
  • 38. Lesbians Love Boies  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Does anyone else see all of the text bold in this thread?

    Reply
    • 39. John  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:14 am

      Yeah, but I had just assumed it was my 8-year-old work computer acting up in some way.

      Reply
    • 40. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:14 am

      yeah….I do…..<3…Ronnie

      Reply
    • 41. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:16 am

      Me, too. I think there’s an end-tag missing somewhere.

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
    • 42. PDXAndrew  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:21 am

      It even shows as bold on my iPhone… Glad to know I’m as sane as the rest of you.

      Love,
      Andrew

      Reply
    • 43. John  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:21 am

      Looks like it’s been fixed.

      Reply
      • 44. couragecampaign  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:23 am

        Sorry about that guys.

        It is indeed fixed.

        -Julia

        Reply
  • 45. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:17 am

    This is from the last story, but I thought it was relevant so wanted to share it here.
    Love, David

    I really get the sense she is embarrassed that I am gay, but guess what? I am gay, was born gay, and will be gay always. I read some other comments here that people share they were born gay, (Ronnie, many thanx). Unfortunately, according to their God, this can’t be true! These people hide behind their religion and wield it, as if it were a shield. Their inability to see beyond anything they cannot understand clouds their vision and at times turns them into bigots. Many of them are well-meaning, yet because they cannot comprehend that someone is born gay, they choose instead to shout and yell racial and gay epithets, as if their God sanctified their words. I am reminded of a scripture “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.” It is pointless to have a discussion with any of these people, since they very quickly degrade into the realm of the obscure and oblique. Their minds have been conditioned to believe what they have read and what they have been told about what the Bible says. I have a neighbor, who has two brothers, who are gay – (he is Seventh Day Adventist). He understands his brothers were born gay, but refuses to acknowledge they are correct. He calls it a “lifestye choice”. I said to him once, I don’t believe it is a choice, there was never any choice for me. End of conversation. I really wish, the Bible could be taken out of the context, when discussing the GLBT community, but it has been engrained in their thought processes. A court of law does not consider “religious arguments”, when it comes to deciding a case. My mother is one of many of what I have dubbed, “Mormon minions”, since they narrowly view the world in a bubble. They believe every word that is spewed out of the mouth of any of their General Authorities (Prophet, Quorom of the Twelve Apostles, and Quorom of the Seventies) and believe their words are inspired by their God. I find it revolting they can sit in Church on Sunday and listen to hatred preached. I have studied many religions throughout my life and have found all of them to be lacking. What is ironic from my perspective is the Mormon Church believes they have the total truth, yet they worship on Sunday. When I point out to them, Sunday is not the correct day and show them in their Bible. It is a “creation Sabbath”, not a “resurrection Sabbath. Christ came not the change the law, but to fulfill the law. When I show them this, their response, is “what difference does it make.” At this point, I just turn and shake my head in disbelief.
    Love, David

    Reply
    • 46. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:26 am

      Dear David;

      This stuff just makes me want to cry. My parents converted to LDS when I was an adult. Fortunately, they stopped trying to convince me to join as well — I had to get kind of vehement for that to happen, unfortunately, when they expressly disregarded my grandmother’s well-known wishes and had her funeral in the LDS church. I was furious.

      Anyway, I really wish that I could do something more concrete for you. This kind of thing makes me feel sad, angry and helpless. I know that many faiths do not want their followers to use critical thinking skills (in the case of LDS, “if the prophet say so, it’s been decided by God”), but it hurts my heart to see it nonetheless.

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
      • 47. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:33 am

        Yes, I agree, they did the same thing to my twin sister, Diane, (died in 1982 in car accident) she had made it very clear, she did not like the Mormon Church, had no use for them. I was beyond furious (livid is a word that comes to mind), when they held my sister’s funeral in the Mormon Church – I was tempted to not even bother to go, but I finally decided that if I wanted to say my goodbyes and to honor her, I would need to go. Then to top it off, the Bishop got up and said, “I didn’t know Diane, but….and then went on to espouse Mormon beliefs. Love, David

        Reply
    • 48. Bill  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      religion dooms humankind.

      Reply
  • 49. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:17 am

    @LLB

    You say this will be happening all over the country? Where can I find more info….I will go with my friend just to support the cause!

    Reply
    • 50. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:28 am

      Courage Campaign and Restore Equality 2010 were both involved in the Day of Love. I haven’t looked (I got an e-mail from them about the Day of Love activities) on the website, but there may be something here. http://www.restoreequality2010.com/

      Basically, what they’re asking is that same-sex couples go to their local bureau/registry office today (they are called different things in some jurisdictions) and request a marriage license — even knowing that they could/would be turned down. It’s to draw attention to the inequality.

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
    • 51. Lesbians Love Boies  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:29 am

      I think it was through today.

      Today

      New York 8am – 10am link in above thread

      Dallas beginning at noon – http://www.pegasusnews.com/news/2010/jan/26/gay-couple-marriage-license-dallas/

      Allentown and Pottsville, PA – Today, but I don’t know the times

      It depends upon your city.

      Reply
    • 52. Lesbians Love Boies  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:34 am

      http://www.mercurynews.com/breaking-news/ci_14389407

      San Francisco
      A rally is planned at 11 a.m. outside City Hall, followed by the visit to the clerk’s office and a dance performance and quilt exhibition inside City Hall.

      Reply
      • 53. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:58 am

        Thank you for the info. I did not see anything in my state. NC. I look forward to seeing what comes of it.

        Reply
    • 54. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:41 pm

      We didn’t find anything in our area but our bureau was shut down for snow. I hope others are successful.

      Sincerely,
      Felyx

      Reply
  • 55. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Welcome, Andy! Thanx for sharing with us!
    Love, David

    Reply
  • 56. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:23 am

    The bold print is gone now – poof! ROFLMAO

    Reply
    • 57. Lesbians Love Boies  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:29 am

      Yeah! At least I now know it’s not ONLY me.

      Reply
  • 58. Straight Ally #3008  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:28 am

    There’s no way this will stand.

    • New York already recognizes out-of-state same-sex marriages, creating an unequal situation similar to California’s

    • In New Jersey it will go to the state supreme court, since the legislature has failed to provide equal legal protections to those in civil unions, which was a requirement of the 2006 court decision that implemented civil unions in the first place

    • Rhode island is looking at pro-equality gubernatorial candidates, which hopefully will end the roadblock of Gov. Carcieri’s veto

    And then there’s Perry v. Schwarzenegger….

    Reply
  • 59. Lesbians Love Boies  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:50 am

    If I don’t talk to you all before Monday, have a VERY Happy Valentines day. You have all become very special friends.

    Reply
    • 60. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:52 am

      Happy singles awareness day!…… >( …..<3…Ronnie

      Reply
      • 61. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:54 am

        Do ya’ think we could, Ronnie?

        Reply
      • 62. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:57 am

        hah?…….could what?

        Reply
    • 63. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:36 pm

      Like LLB, I’m not sure how much I’ll be on this weekend. I hope everyone has a splendid Valentine’s Day, single or coupled. You are indeed a big part of my family of choice.

      Love,
      Fiona (whose husband says I need to have photos of all of you here to hang on the wall)

      Reply
      • 64. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:44 pm

        Fiona, feel free to download my FB profile pic, or you can email me there and I will send you some pics.

        Reply
      • 65. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:00 pm

        Thank you, Richard. :-)

        Jeff (my husband) completely understands my family of choice situation, and is happy to have such neat new “relatives.”

        You can do the same with my pic if you would like. :-)

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
      • 66. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:12 pm

        I will. Thanks, sis. And Happy Valentine’s Day. I hope Jeff makes you feel like every day is Valentine’s Day.

        Reply
      • 67. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:14 pm

        You’re most welcome, Richard.

        You know, like any couple, Jeff and I have our ups and downs. But he is pretty awesome overall, and I’m glad we found each other.

        It’s kind of funny; I was friends with my SIL for three years before I met Jeff and everyone assumes she introduced us. She didn’t; we met totally by accident. :-)

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
  • 68. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 11:58 am

    I dunno…you are correct, Valentines day does remind us we are alone!

    Reply
    • 69. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:00 pm

      Well alone into sense that some us are single….. : (

      Reply
  • 70. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    But on a cheerier note, we are never alone, as long as we have each other in life!

    Reply
    • 71. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      “Show me that smile again. (Show me that smile)
      Don’t waste another minute on your cryin.
      We’re nowhere near the end (nowhere near)
      The best is ready to begin.

      Oooohhh. As long as we got each other
      We got the world spinnin right in our hands.
      Baby you and me, we gotta be
      The luckiest dreamers who never quit dreamin

      As long as we keep on givin
      we can take anything that comes our way
      Baby, rain or shine, all the time
      We got each other Sharin the laughter and love.”

      <3…Ronnie

      Reply
      • 72. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm

        Dedicated to all my Equality Loves….<3…Ronnie

        Reply
      • 73. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:13 pm

        Thank you, Ronnie, that was beautfiul!
        <3 David

        Reply
      • 74. Rightthingtodo TX  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:49 pm

        growing pains

        i’m not sure kirk would approve of using the theme on this site

        not that i care he’s such a numbskull…you know the whole origin of species thing

        Reply
  • 75. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Ironic note:

    One tradition of St. Valentine is that he married couples in defiance of the Law.

    I see a parallel here! Nice day for Marriage Equality Protesting!

    Reply
    • 76. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:47 pm

      Felyx, what law was St. Valentine defying when he married people?

      Reply
      • 77. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:03 pm

        Richard, Emperor Claudius ordered a moratorium on marriage during the 3rd C. CE so that he could force men to join the military. (Married men were exempt from service at that time.) Bishop Valentine was caught by the Roman soldiers performing weddings in defiance of the decree. He was briefly incarcerated, tortured and executed on 14 Feb 269. His last known correspondence was to the jailer’s daughter, thanking her for her kindness to him. That’s the reason that we give cards on Valentine’s Day, named for the martyred bishop and celebrated on the date of his death.

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
      • 78. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:28 pm

        Sorry for my absence. I just put my ‘work’ to bed. Thank you Fiona for explaining so well the tradition to which I was refering.

        Love,
        Felyx

        Reply
  • 79. PDXAndrew  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    Am I the only one, or are some of you also now officially addicted to this P8TT site?
    I can’t seem to get any work done these days.

    Reply
    • 80. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:30 pm

      I’m addicted to this site but I’m good at multi-tasking so I get a good amount of work done…granted I run my own small business from home….but yeah this blog is open on my comp 24/7….lol…..<3…Ronnie

      Reply
    • 81. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:43 pm

      No, I am addicted to this site, too! I hope the site morph’s into something, once we hear the verdict from the judge.

      Reply
      • 82. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:48 pm

        I am waiting on word about taking everything from this site and putting in all into book form. Thought that would also be a good fund-raiser for Courage Campaign.

        Reply
      • 83. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:12 pm

        Richard, if you get permission to do so, you might want to use Smashwords as your platform; they have deals in place with Barnes & Noble, among others (formatting issues have arisen but the deals are there), and they do multi-format books. The accounting is easy-peasy as well.

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
      • 84. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:15 pm

        Thanks, sis. And thanks also about the information as to what law Valentine was defying. Could the guy in SF who jump-started the ssm legalization for CA be a reincarnation of Valentine, do you think?

        Reply
    • 85. Kathleen  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:20 pm

      I’m totally addicted. I don’t know what I’m going to do when the trial is really over and they de-activate this part of the site.

      Reply
      • 86. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:51 pm

        I rather enjoy the group. Equal Marriage means the end of gay discrimination for me. This group is like the living fire that keeps me upbeat and positive.

        Reply
      • 87. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:49 pm

        I will probably have to keep up with everyone on FB. And for everyone who is on here, I will also give you my phone number later upon request.

        Reply
  • 88. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    Ronnie, I need to go and take a nap, but I am sending you an e-mail before I lay down.

    Reply
  • 89. Brandy  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    I just read an interesting, yet empty, article on the Legislator about 5th graders being given images of two men having sex to teach them how to do it.
    The bile that spews from Rep. Nancy Elliott, R-Merrimack, in the video clip is just another shining example of lies used to stir fear.

    http://www.nashuatelegraph.com/news/606137-196/legislator-nashua-fifth-graders-taught-gay-sex.html

    She’s in our government eating our cheesbugers!!!

    Reply
    • 90. Brandy  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      O here we go:
      Nancy_Elliott@elliott-controls.com

      No need getting angry amongst ourselves. I’m sure as a representative of the people shes willing to hear from ALL of them…

      and go…..

      Reply
      • 91. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:40 pm

        Perhaps we could get the email addresses of ALL the legislators and the school board and demand an investigation to the point of publicly humiliating her for being a lying **********!

        I would love to see an expose’ on how she is blantantly able to insult the school board and the teachers in it. Then any time an article is written about her it can say, Elliot says, (if indeed she is telling the truth) “…”

        Don’t even make it a gay issue, make it an integrity issue regarding slandering the Nashua School Administration!!!

        Reply
      • 92. Dave T  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:54 pm

        I sent the following email:

        ————————————————–
        Dear Ms. Elliott,

        As the parent of a young child, I would be furious if my son’s teacher presented graphic sexual materials in class. Explicit depictions of sexual activity, whether between two men, two women, or a man and a woman, have no place in elementary school classrooms.

        However, in reading further, I noted that the superintendent of the school district claims that you have not brought this to his attention. This puzzles me and, after giving it some thought, I have to conclude that one of two things happened here:

        1. this event did not occur, in which case you are guilty of lying (or, in terms you may find easier to understand, “bearing false witness”). I’d like to call your attention to Proverbs 6:16-19: “There are six things that the Lord hates, . . ., a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers”. I’m sure you’re aware that the Bible mentions bearing false witness in many other places as well.

        2. it did occur, but you are more interested in scoring political points than protecting our children, which makes you a truly vile human being. I’m not sure what the Bible has to say about that kind of behavior, but I can’t imagine that the Lord looks kindly upon people like that.

        Ms. Elliot, you need to come clean. Either admit that the whole thing is a lie motivated by your hatred for lesbian and gay people, or do the right thing and cooperate with the authorities in investigating this.

        Thank you,
        Dave Thomas

        Reply
      • 93. Dave T  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:07 pm

        Found some additional info…

        Nancy Elliott
        Capitol Office
        State House 107 North Main Street
        Concord, NH 03301
        Phone: 603-271-2548
        Phone: 603-271-3184
        nancy.elliott@leg.state.nh.us
        nancy_elliott@elliott-controls.com

        Reply
      • 94. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:57 pm

        Dear God Dave!

        Bravo!

        I am following suit! Let’s see if we can’t find the Sup as well and get him/her all worked up.

        Hey Supe, Elliot says you are doing this I DEMAND YOUR RESIGNATION!!!

        Hehehehe…..

        Thank you Dave!

        Reply
  • 95. Michelle Evans  |  February 12, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    One thing I haven’t heard mentioned here today is that today also happens to be Abe Lincoln’s birthday. Seems appropriate to celebrate marriage equality on the day when we had a President who thought that all people of America were actually equal to all others.

    Reply
  • 96. Michael Herman  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    YES. This is what I’ve been saying for a while now!

    MAKE A STATEMENT BY GOING FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE AND MAKE SURE THEY KNOW THEY ARE DENYING YOU BECAUSE OF DISCRIMINATION!

    Reply
  • 97. bJason  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    “Happy Birthday Abie baby, happy birthday to you!!”

    I “gay-marry” all of you!

    Love Jason

    Reply
    • 98. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      Four score
      I said four score and seven years ago
      Oh sock it to ’em baby, you’re sounding better all the time!
      Our forefathers, I mean all our forefathers
      Brought forth upon this here continent a new nation
      Conceived, conceived like we all was
      In liberty, and dedicated to the one I love
      I mean dedicated to the proposition
      That all men, honey, I tell you all men
      Are created equal

      (You knew I’d go there, didn’t you Jason?)

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
      • 99. bJason  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:54 pm

        I didn’t KNOW – but I held out the greatest of hopes! And with good reason.

        I super-really gay-marry Fiona!

        Love, Jason

        Reply
      • 100. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:52 pm

        And you did it so beautifully! Are you sure you shouldn’t try again for a theatrical career? As perhaps a writer-director-actress-singer?

        Reply
      • 101. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:08 pm

        Richard, you are so sweet. It has been a long time since my days on stage — my last formal show was in 1989. Hard to believe it’s been 20 years; I just realized it as I wrote this. I did some small performance here and there up until mid-1995, at which point (here comes the TMI) … I suffered from a nervous breakdown. The real deal, with doctors involved, my mother coming to live with me … the whole shooting match. When I sang with an octet on World AIDS Day in December 2009, that was my first public performance in 14 years.

        I do some environmental theatre here and there (I’ve played Madame Giry at a Victorian reenactment here in the SF Bay Area, where my husband plays the Phantom of the Opera), but medication side effects left me chubby and there are some lingering effects from that breakdown that make it hard to guarantee I can manage a performance.

        I can belt out a showtune in the car like nobody’s business, though; I’m a contralto with excellent diaphragmatic projection. :-)

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
      • 102. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm

        PS to Richard:

        The lyrics are more of the “Happy Birthday, Abie Baby” song that Jason posted. :-) (Just in case you didn’t know.)

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
      • 103. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:22 pm

        And I am a tenor. In fact, in a recent role in Goldsboro, NC, I played Muff Potter in the Center Stage Theatre production of Tom Sawyer, the Musical. And you know what they say about tenors and altos harmonizing well together. Maybe we will get to do a show together sometime.

        Reply
      • 104. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:31 pm

        Headlines! Gay Man Plays Muff !!!

        Sorry Richard….I had to go there!

        Reply
      • 105. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:39 pm

        Okay, how embarrassing.

        I was wrong. I did two shows in 2000, both of them dance productions. I did tap and ballet until I sprained one of my ankles very badly (I’ve sprained the same one twice subsequently). I still do some vintage ballroom dancing, though.

        So, it’s actually been 10 years since I did a show, not 20. Argh. How could I have forgotten? I had such a good time.

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
      • 106. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 5:16 pm

        That’s okay, sis. I did have to make a laughter-related pit stop before I could respond, however. In fact, I am going to make myself a t-shirt that borow from the National Coming Out day ad that “Marcy” from “Married With Children” did. It is going to read, “I’m not a straight man, but I play on on thestage.” I was in two more productions for Center tage before moving to Hope Mills last year, and won an award for playing Bob Cratchit in The Christmas Carol. ANd if you feel like calling, we are usually awake until at least 11pm est.

        Reply
      • 107. PDXAndrew  |  February 12, 2010 at 5:52 pm

        Felix! OMG, I just about spewed soda all over the place.

        Love,
        Andrew

        Reply
      • 108. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 6:40 pm

        BWAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!…..WTF!!!!!….ewww…muff!..lol…..<3…Ronnie

        Reply
      • 109. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 6:49 pm

        Fiona, I think the reason you may have forgotten about the shows you did in 2000 mayhave something to do having had a lot of experinces since then, so they got jumbled and were not necessarily available for immediate recall. It happens to all of us. And as to the t-shirt I am going to make for myself, I am thinking about having the letters ina nice rainbow coloration. What is really funny is that in my first role, it was almost a bit of typecasting. I am a recovering alcoholic, and had just picked up my 12-year medallion as a friend of Bill W. And then after we got our scripts and rehearsals began, I wa reminded that Muff Potter ws the town drunk! I could not help but ROFL! And to be honest, I think my experiences as a recovering alcoholic enhanced my performance as the town drunk. Then when I played Bob Cratchit, I got to meet even more wonderful people, and when I played Carl Bolton in “Morning’s at Seven,” I got to work with thos people yet again. Now hopefully I can get in with either Cape Fear Regional Theatre or the Gilbert Theatre and make my Fayetteville debut. Hopefully one of them will do “The Music Man” or “Annie.” If either one does “Annie,” I wan the announcer that the guy from “The Newlywed Game” played in the movie. (Or was that Peter Marshall?)

        Reply
      • 110. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 6:50 pm

        Andrew,

        Reading your comment just now caused me to do just that….somehow something one says is even funnier when someone else laughs their drink out there nose!

        Thanks for making my night guys!

        Reply
      • 111. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:24 pm

        Ronie @105:
        Yes, te character Iplayedwas called Muff. As to the origin and choice of that name, I will definitely ask Mr. Clemens when Isee him. You may know him better as Mark Twain. Read Tom Sawyer, Ronnie. I hve also done female impersonations in the past. I used to do a variety of characters–Reba, Dolly,Patty Loveless, Lorrie Morgan, and so forth. If Iever go back into it, I will never do Doly again. As much as I love her, my back cannot handle those breasts. After all, think abot how much larger than Dolly’s actually are my glue-ons have to be in order to have the same proportion. And even though the material they are made of is suppose to be lighter than the human body, they still get heavy when they have to be that large. And I must have been doing something right. I even managed to fool the gu I boht my jewely from in broad daylight at a distance that was only about showcase deep. Guess that was the thespian in me coming out even then.

        Reply
      • 112. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:30 pm

        Gasp!….dopty-daddy……Reba:

        “My roots are planted in the past, and though my life is changing fast, who I am is who I want to be….A single mom who works to hard, who loves her kids and never stops….with gentle hands and the heart of a fighter….I’m a surviver!”……hahaha….no I did not look that up I actually know it…….<3…Ronnie

        Reply
  • 113. B&E  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    I like the idea of restore equality. However, I would like to see someone compile a list of the 18000 SS individuals who are still legally married in CA but live in other states that are currently under DOMA. Once the list was compiled, the individuals involved would file suit against the states for violating the 14th Amendment in which these individuals live. I would personally love to meet an attorney who could assist with such a case in TN.

    Reply
  • 114. Straight Ally #3008  |  February 12, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    It’s Charles Darwin’s 201st birthday, too – yes, born the same year as Honest Abe. :)

    Reply
    • 115. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      Happy birthday, Charles! (I don’t have a groovy song, I’m sorry …)

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
  • 116. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    I’m back, where did everybody go?

    Reply
    • 117. fiona64  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm

      I had to do some yucky old work, LOL.

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
    • 118. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 6:37 pm

      I went to dinner at Applebees with the mother, my second cousin(both of their b-days yesterday Mom-53 2nd cuz-11) and my cousin and 2 of here kids then we went to her daughters karate lesson….hehehe….she kicked this boys ass who is a foot taller then her….she hurt is left shoulder…it was quite funny…..lol……<3…Ronnie

      Reply
      • 119. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:51 pm

        And I hope all of you had a good time!

        Reply
      • 120. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:58 pm

        yeah i did…thank you…the waiter was hot…but he was straight….. :( ….<3…Ronnie

        Reply
  • 121. Sheryl  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Not sure, break is over and I just made it thru all of the posts. Have a good afternoon, David.

    Reply
  • 122. David Kimble  |  February 12, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Thanks, you too, maybe they all went the rally’s

    Reply
  • 123. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Okay, Ronne, this one is especially for you, just because I have learned the entire song.
    “Survivor” by Reba.

    1) I was born three months too early, the doctor gave me thirty days.
    But I musta had my mama’s will, and God’s amazing grace.
    I guess I’ll keep on living, even if your love’s to die for,
    ‘Cause your bags are packed and I ain’t crying;
    You’re walking out and I’m not trying
    To change your mind, ’cause I was born to be

    The baby girl without a chance, a “victim of circumstance”
    The who oughta give up, but she’s just too hard-headed.
    A single mom who works too hard to raise her kids and never stops
    With gentle hands and the heart of a tiger, I’m a Survivor.

    2) I don’t believe in self-pity, it only brings you down,
    May be the queen of broken hearts but I don’t hide behind a frown.
    When the deck is stacked against me, I just play a different game.
    My roots are planted in the past, and though my life is changing fast
    Who I am is who I want to be.

    the baby girl without a chance, a “victim of circumstance”
    The one who oughta give up, but she’s just too hard-headed
    The single mom who works two jobs to raise her kids and never stops
    With gentle hands and the heart of a tiger
    I’m a Survivor!

    Reply
    • 124. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 7:56 pm

      lol…dopt-daddy..I posted the theme song to her TV show….I heart Van Montgomery….lol….thank you…<3…Ronnie

      Reply
      • 125. Richard Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:10 pm

        Yes, and the full-length version of the song ws a big hit for Reba in its own right. The sng is called “I’m a Survivor.” It is a great song, and to be honest, I think it fits all of us Trial Trackers, don’t you? After all, aren’t all of us survivors?

        Reply
      • 126. Ronnie  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:15 pm

        I concur

        Reply
  • 127. Beth  |  February 12, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Hey,
    I hope you guys don’t think I’m some random stalker or anything since I haven’t posted on here at all yet. I’m in high school but trying to keep myself posted on the trial and juggling schoolwork and rehearsal and reading this gets difficult so I have random days where I spend the entire day glued to the site trying to get caught up. Lol.
    Anyway, I just wanted to let you guys know that I love reading all of your comments and everything. Anyway, I hope to find time to post a little more often since the homework load has lightened a bit now that finals week is over.
    You guys probably don’t care at all about this. I just thought I would tell you guys how much I enjoy reading this and seeing what other people have to say.
    Keep it coming.

    Beth (PDX).

    Reply
    • 128. Felyx  |  February 12, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      So awesome when people like you let us all know that you are watching and listening. It gives us a warm feeling to know that there are others who are here with us even when they don’t often post. Thank you and welcome!

      Love,
      Felyx

      Reply
    • 129. fiona64  |  February 13, 2010 at 3:35 pm

      Dear Beth:

      Thank you for your post. You have proven my point; you never know who is watching and looking at what we say and what kind of a difference it might make to a total stranger.

      We all care very much, I promise.

      Love from your straight ally,
      Fiona (who grew up in PDX)

      Reply
  • 130. Marlette B  |  February 13, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    There was a man in FL that married a complete stranger to prove a point …
    http://cfnews13.com/News/Local/2010/2/8/groom_spins_the_bottle_to_pick_wife.html

    … also, tomorrow in NYC : unmarriage until gay marriage …
    http://www.revbilly.com/events/unmarriage-until-gaymarriage

    Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day, and while I’m grateful to have a woman in my life that I love very much, I wish we were able to be legally married and have it recognized in all 50 states.

    Reply
  • 131. gazongmk  |  May 8, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I think, that you are mistaken. I can prove it. Write to me in PM, we will talk.
    I think, that you are mistaken. Let’s discuss. Write to me in PM.
    In my opinion you are not right. I am assured. I suggest it to discuss. Write to me in PM, we will talk.
    In it something is. Thanks for an explanation. All ingenious is simple.
    I can recommend to visit to you a site on which there is a lot of information on a theme interesting you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Support the Prop 8 Trial Tracker

Connect with us

Get to know your fellow Prop 8 Trial Trackers on Facebook.

Please send tips to prop8trial@couragecampaign.org

Follow us on Twitter @EqualityOnTrial

Sign-up for updates on the Prop 8 trial, including breaking-news alerts.

Categories

TWITTER: Follow us @EqualityOnTrial

Share this

Bookmark and Share

SITE STATS (by Wordpress)

  • 4,585,301 views of the Tracker and counting as of today...