VIDEO: Rachel Maddow interviews Ted Olson and David Boies (plus Chad Griffin’s brilliant speech and “The Moment”)

August 5, 2010 at 12:56 am 58 comments

By Eden James

Miss Rachel Maddow’s live interview with Ted Olson and David Boies on her show last night?

As MSNBC’s embed code has failed for us, here’s a YouTube version, courtesy of our friends at Firedoglake (and Teddy Partridge in particular):

And, just because Teddy was cool enough to get this CNN video of Chad Griffin‘s brilliant speech at the American Foundation for Equal Rights press conference, here’s a bonus video for all our night owl Trial Trackers. Enjoy:

Heads-up for Thursday: Paul Hogarth will be posting an analysis of the decision first thing in the morning and Adam Bink will be back to take the reins on the Prop 8 Trial Tracker as well as NOMTourTracker.com, as Maggie Gallagher, Brian Brown and NOM pull into St. Louis, Missouri for their next tour stop, now in full Red Dawn mode.

UPDATE BY EDEN (1:08 AM PST): OK, here’s one more Firedoglake-customized video for you night owls and early birds.

Ted Olson at the AFER press conference after the decision was announced, reminds us all why it’s so important that we bring what happened at the Prop 8 trial into the lives of Americans:

“We felt from the beginning that it was unfortunate that every American could not have seen this trial, seen the experts talk about the value of marriage, the history of discrimination, the value of equality, and all of the things that this case involves, including love and commitment and respect and decency and honor.”

UPDATE BY EDEN (3:24 AM PST): The videos showing up on Facebook now are amazing. People are getting home after celebrating late into the night and then uploading footage for their friends.

I’ve got to get to sleep (finally!), but before I do, here’s one of “The Moment” the ruling came down outside the courthouse in San Francisco, produced and edited tonight by LGBT rights videographer Sean Chapin:

Ted Olson and David Boies will share most of the spotlight for their pivotal role in making the Prop 8 decision possible. But, as we all know, there are thousands of people who have actively participated in advocating and agitating for marriage equality for years. These are the people that built the foundation for victory that Olson, Boies and the amazing AFER team are standing on.

Several of them are featured in this video, including Molly McKay, Stuart Gaffney and John Lewis of Marriage Equality USA, forces of nature in the fight for marriage equality in California and across the country. This video also includes Paul Hogarth, who writes for the Prop8 Trial Tracker. Paul is the guy who reads the announcement aloud after his phone fails to open the PDF of the ruling. If you recognize other participants in this video, share their names in the comments.

And if you’ve seen some videos that you want to share with the P8TT community, embed them in the comments for everyone to watch!

Entry filed under: Daily Summary, Trial analysis, Videos.

Is Maggie Gallagher losing it? Says Prop 8 decision is sign of “Soviet-style” government takeover (with “Red Dawn” update!) “Facts are stubborn things”: The meaning and value of Judge Walker’s Prop 8 decision

58 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JonT  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:59 am

    Ok. 2am. Really. must. go. to. bed.

    But what the heck, I’ll subscribe so my inbox will be all nice and warm when I get up tomorrow :)

    Thanks for the bonus vid Eden! :)

    Reply
    • 2. Dave in ME  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:36 am

      Good morning everyone!!!

      Reply
      • 3. Alan E.  |  August 5, 2010 at 6:51 am

        Good morning Dave!

        Reply
  • 4. Michelle Evans  |  August 5, 2010 at 12:59 am

    Glad I was able to record both Olberman and Maddow this evening while we were away at the Prop 8 rally in Santa Ana. The comments and interviews on both shows were truly outstanding. Rachel spent over half her show on the subject, which was a great bonus.

    Our rally went really wonderfully, although not up to the thousands in places like The Castro! :-) It was great to get together and share the love amongst all the people present. Cherie and I even got interviewed for local TV so that was cool.

    Reply
    • 5. Steve  |  August 5, 2010 at 8:18 am

      Olberman’s original commentary after Prop8 passed is simply amazing. Must see:

      Reply
      • 6. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 5, 2010 at 11:38 am

        Thank you for posting this. As we watched it last night, all I could think of was the righteous anger I saw in Keith’s eyes over this injustice that was foisted on the people of California. And in his coverage of judge Walker’s decision, he appeared almost ecstatic to see justice prevail.

        Reply
      • 7. JonT  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:18 pm

        Wow, that was beautiful. Thanks for posting it.

        Reply
  • 8. Ronnie  |  August 5, 2010 at 1:05 am

    I LOVE the speech by Chad Griffin…very strong…I have not seen Maddow yet, but I can’t wait to watch it. I’m hearing great opinions about it….<3…Ronnie

    Reply
  • 9. James Tuttle  |  August 5, 2010 at 1:05 am

    I’m so dissapointing that Santa Ana had a rally and Fresno didn’t…way to go Santa Ana, but living here in the central valley is challenging when it comes to putting things together due to complete lack of support. I would have loved to have today, more than any other day, been with all the people who shared my utter thrill. Instead I went to work and then split a bottle of Tobin James Dream Weaver champagne with my partner. It was SO NICE!!! But I think sharing this day with a community would have been equally as nice…and welcome by us both.

    Reply
    • 10. Jonathan H  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:41 am

      Fresno didn’t? A group called Gay Fresno was planning a rally at city hall. I don’t know anything else, but I hope it’s a matter of you not knowing rather than it not happening.

      Reply
  • 11. Michelle Evans  |  August 5, 2010 at 1:08 am

    When Cherie and I went to the rally Wednesday evening we both wore red, white, and blue. When we got up in front of the crowd to speak I explained that for the first time in several years we were both proud to be Americans, and that for the first time we both felt we had been accepted as human beings.

    It was a joyous occasion and one we hope to repeat after the decisions from both the 9th Circuit and the SCOTUS.

    Reply
  • 12. James Tuttle  |  August 5, 2010 at 1:31 am

    Comments are quiet tonight. I think everyone must be exhausted….it has been a long, exciting day. =-) xo

    Reply
  • 13. Kathleen  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:04 am

    I’m just catching up with comments after joining in an event in downtown Los Angeles.

    Reply
    • 14. ĶĭŗîļĺęΧҲΪ  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:33 am

      Wow, you went to the rally in LA!
      I’m so envious of you, guys, who can go to rallies and parades… One day I will see them myself!

      As for Rachel Maddow: well, we were watching with tears.

      I would also recommend Keith Olbermann’s segment before Maddow’s show — it was beautiful. I’ll try to find those online and will provide links (hope they will be available on MSNBC.com).

      Reply
      • 15. Kathleen  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:40 am

        Saw them both – they were both very powerful. Wish you were here to celebrate with me. You’re in my heart.

        Reply
      • 16. Greg in Oz  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:47 am

        Would really appreciate the Olbermann link – watched Rachel’s, but cant get Countdown here anymore and the MSNBC website wont play those vids in Australia (something about it being copyrighted).

        I’m dead jealous too of all the folk in LA and San Francisco – just hoping the excitement is still going on in September when I hit San Francisco for Folsom St Fair!

        What a day eh?

        Greg in Oz

        Reply
      • 17. ĶĭŗîļĺęΧҲΪ  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:02 am

        The Rachel Maddow Show three segments about Prop 8 ruling on August 4.
        I really recommend watching all of them. They are available online even in Russia!
        I will post one link per comment.
        1) Prop 8 ruling rich with facts

        Reply
      • 18. ĶĭŗîļĺęΧҲΪ  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:03 am

        2) Anti-Prop 8 attorneys discuss victory

        Reply
      • 19. ĶĭŗîļĺęΧҲΪ  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:05 am

        3) Anti-gay marriage testimony lacking fact, integrity

        Reply
      • 20. ĶĭŗîļĺęΧҲΪ  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:07 am

        And here is Keith Olbermann on Countdown: Gay marriage is a question of love.

        Reply
      • 21. ĶĭŗîļĺęΧҲΪ  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:12 am

        The New York Times: “Court Rejects Same-Sex Marriage Ban in California

        Reply
    • 22. ĶĭŗîļĺęΧҲΪ  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:03 am

      3) Anti-gay marriage testimony lacking fact, integrity

      Reply
      • 23. Greg in Oz  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:43 am

        thanks for all those links matey! Just going to pop off and watch them all now ;-)

        Reply
      • 24. ĶĭŗîļĺęΧҲΪ  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:20 am

        @Greg in Oz
        You said you can’t access MSNBC programming in Australia.
        Let us know if those links worked for you.
        I’m really curious if they block some countries.

        Reply
      • 25. Greg in Oz  |  August 5, 2010 at 6:09 am

        they worked fine.It’s a copyright issue down here I think – something to do with it being on cable Tv, but not Free to air

        thanks again (still havent watched them all – jsut fimished reading the decision from start to finish, awesome!)

        Thanks again

        Reply
  • 26. Greg in Oz  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:26 am

    Hey Kathleen – if your still up.

    Love your legal commentary – has really helped me understand the system over there (just wanted to say that).

    Great news today!

    It’s being reported here – in a minor way though and not on every News – but at least it’s getting a mention!

    Hope your all celebrating well over there – I’ll be up till late reading all of the commentary and decision :-).

    Lots a love to you all

    Greg in Oz

    Reply
    • 27. Kathleen  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:39 am

      Thanks, Greg. Glad to know it’s helped. It’s been a long, exciting day and I’m having trouble unwinding enough to sleep. At least I’m getting caught up with all the comments. :)

      Reply
  • 28. Michelle Evans  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:32 am

    Ours was not a huge rally, just a few hundred people in Santa Ana, but I wanted to share a few of the photos from Wednesday. Nothing fancy but a few snapshots on the Day of Decision!

    http://www.mach25media.com/decision.html

    Reply
  • 29. Gew  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:53 am

    So, the sun comes out and rationality has it’s day finally.

    Time for a breather and some rejoicing. Then it’s on to the appelate court and then SCOTUS.

    I may be a Canuck but I’ve been continually rooting for you guys and the sanity with which Judge Walker laid out his ruling was SO refreshing to read after having to deal with the inanity of the Pro 8″s rhetoric.

    *hugs for everyone*

    Reply
    • 30. Kathleen  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:55 am

      Thanks, Gew. And hugs to you.

      Reply
  • 31. LuckyLeilani (Seattle, formerly Idaho)  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:54 am

    I’m new here too. I tried to comment earlier when I saw a message from “New” Dwight :) But I was keeping tabs on Prop 8 with my Droid and it decided to shut down on me in the middle of my post.

    I felt compelled to say to all of you that I am a somewhat young, divorced, single, straight, mom. I am also, like some of you, a citizen of the USA. I shake my head in disbelief that there is even a ludicrous “law” like Prop 8 being debated in this country.

    I have so many things I’d love to say here, but there isn’t enough room. I saved all that for my own website. For those interested, you can go here: http://www.3percentgirl.com/?p=498 and here: http://www.3percentgirl.com/?p=519

    I will say that I support ALL efforts to create equality among every human being, regardless of race, religion (or lack of), political or personal beliefs, gender, age, nationality, wealth (or lack of), profession, or residential neighborhood (and by that, I mean ‘which state they reside in’ here in America). We are ALL citizens of this country and we deserve to be treated fair and equal, regardless of which state we choose to (or in some cases, are FORCED TO) live in.

    I hope one day we will all wake up and realize that we need to stop judging ~ period. We need to stop looking for excuses to hate ~ period. We need to embrace our differences ~ period. We need to strive to love and understand one another ~ period. Without these things, we will NOT grow and thrive in a global society. We will continue to battle with others. We will continue to lose precious time that could have been be better spent living in a more healthy, peaceful and harmonious environment.

    I want to give KUDOS to all of you for standing up, for speaking out, and to whomever is responsible for maintaining this site, I applaud you (YOU ROCK!) and I hope each of you will celebrate this historical legal decision every year on August 4th, until it’s replaced by the one from SCOTUS. I know the battle isn’t over.

    I want to say that you really are not alone. You are also not “a mistake” or “a sin” or “sub-human” ~ You’re a living, feeling, equal human being ~ no matter what gender you are.

    I also hope you will not forget those who are still fighting a battle for equality (Ahem, Arizona comes to mind).

    Congratulations on a victory well-deserved.

    Note: If you want to send me a reply, please post a comment on my website (links above) since I may not be able to find this website again (I was ‘lucky’ this time but may not remember the name of it next time) ~ Otherwise, I may not be able to ‘see’ what you replied to me here.

    Reply
    • 32. Kathleen  |  August 5, 2010 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you. This is the first post I saw this morning that brought up the tears.

      I love the reminders that there are so many fair minded, good people in this country who can understand that, even when a specific issue doesn’t directly affect them, we ALL have a stake in issues of civil rights. We must all stand up to bigotry and injustice, no matter what form it takes.

      Reply
    • 33. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:52 pm

      Thank you, Lucky Leilani!

      Reply
  • 34. Matthew  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:58 am

    I thought the Rachel was great.

    Bit rig now I’m watching Keith olberman interviewing Joe Solomnese.
    Seriously screw him for stealing the limelight after Walkers ruling and then stumping for friggin domestic partnerships. He publicly opposed bringing this case to court in the first place. Then gets face time on Countdown. Yuppie asskissing sell-out! He’s no better than NOMBLA. (National Organization of Maggie and Brian Lovers Anonymous)

    Reply
  • 35. Straight Grandmother  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:18 am

    And I specifically noticed that Davied Boies said in his interview with Rachel Maddow, “…Gay and Lesbian’s and the families they are raising” For ONCE someone talked about not just the couples but the families, including the children. This was a real victory for me. We are talking about families now, it is more than just about 2 adults.

    Reply
    • 36. Sagesse  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:17 am

      Actually, SG, Olsen and Boies refer to the families often when giving interviews, and the ‘thousands of children being raised by LGBT couples in California’.

      Reply
      • 37. Straight Grandmother  |  August 5, 2010 at 7:10 am

        I just don’t recall anyone saying it very often. I noticed it today. I thought I caught most of their interviews via videos on the internet but there could be some I didn’t see. Anyway I hope you are right Sagasee, I hope you are right and I am wrong. I hope they always talk about the families.

        Reply
    • 38. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  August 5, 2010 at 7:47 am

      Dear Straight Grandmother – thank you for your beautiful open mind and energetic support!

      My family consists of me, born in the United States, my Dear partner of 3 yrs from Chile who I’m waiting for the day we can marry and have all the legal rights to keeps us together.

      Also have 4 children, one grandchild (which I’m looking forward to the day I can meet, as my daughter is not ready to accept me yet with my partner). 2nd child, ditto. Two youngest and ex-wife manage well :) My partner is great with the kids and he teaches them many good principles which I’m often delighted by and very grateful for. We take them on trips and outing, though they live with the mother primarily. I have an adopted niece who is part Mexican, Chilean and American.

      This is my family which I love and cherish every moment! Would love to adopt needy children someday as the law allows.

      Gratitude and thanks to all that is working toward validating my family and all persons for who they are.

      Love and Light

      Reply
  • 39. Eden James  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:39 am

    Finally going to bed, but wanted to let folks know that I just posted “The Moment” video as an update to this post — from the courthouse in San Francisco. It might remind you of when you were nervously trying to find out the news today as it happened.

    Refresh the thread to relive the moment!

    Reply
    • 40. celdd  |  August 5, 2010 at 10:22 am

      I loved it! Of any of the videos yesterday and today, that brought the most tears.

      Reply
  • 41. Sagesse  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:06 am

    Don’t you people ever sleep :). Coffee, lots of coffee. Looking forward to seeing the photos and vids.

    Reply
  • 42. Dan Hess  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:25 am

    Anyone care to guess as to how the other side’s going to try and spin this?

    Reply
  • 43. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:39 am

    Salt Lake City celebrates! It was pretty stormy throughout the day in Salt Lake City, just in time for a rally light and beautiful rainbow appeared… overwhelming feelings of joy!

     

    Reply
    • 44. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:43 am

      I tried to embed video of Salt Lake rally and rainbow, unsuccessful, here is the link :)

      http://www.fox13now.com/news/local/kstu-demonstrations-expected-salt-lake-city-after-prop-8-ruling,0,5664863.story

      Reply
      • 45. Straight Grandmother  |  August 5, 2010 at 7:17 am

        Gregory, I watched your celebration it was GREAT. Right near the end a huge rainbow appeared in the sky. Musta been God smiling don’t you think?

        Reply
      • 46. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  August 5, 2010 at 8:15 am

        Yes! I AGREE! the sky was gorgeous! looked to me as if heaven opened up! Thank you for taking time to review video :)

        Reply
  • 47. Papa Foma  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:50 am

    I thought Keith O. had drained my tear bucket dry until I read Chad’s speech — guess my joyful tears have a bottomless supply. I have more hope than ever for seeing my loved ones married to one another!
    Papa

    Reply
  • 48. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:57 am

    We watched Keith Olberman and Rachel Maddow live last night, and Keith even ended his show with a replay of his comments about the passage of Prop H8 from 10 November 2008. Then we watched the replay of Hardball, where again this was the top story. And the legal experts on all three shows agreed that Judge Walker’s ruling will more than likely stand up all the way to SCOTUS. Rachel Maddow was not the only one last night who was very happy about judge Walker’s ruling. Keith even said that the dog he has in this hunt is freedom, justice, and equality for all Americans. But by saying that he doesn’t know any LGBTQQi individuals, it makes me wonder–Is he unaware that his colleague whose show is immediately after his is a lesbian in a loving committed relationship?

    Reply
    • 49. Kathleen  |  August 5, 2010 at 2:39 pm

      Listen to it again. I don’t think he said he doesn’t know any gay people. I think he said he didn’t have any personal stories of close friends or colleagues fighting prejudice that still pervades their lives.

      Reply
      • 50. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 5, 2010 at 3:40 pm

        I will. But I will never forget the look of anger in his eyes in the special comments about Prop H8 passing. He truly feels that Judge Walker has righted a huge wrong.

        Reply
  • 51. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 5, 2010 at 5:58 am

    Dingy forgot to click the box again. DUH!

    Reply
  • 52. Rhonda  |  August 5, 2010 at 7:49 am

    http://joemygod.blogspot.com/2010/08/maggie-sees-shrink.html
    Maggie sees a shrink..
    Sorry don’t know how to embed or to hyperlink

    <3 Rhonda

    Reply
  • 53. Ann S.  |  August 5, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Straights love Boies, too. I love Courage Campaign, AFER, and all you P8TT folks.

    Reply
    • 54. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 5, 2010 at 11:31 am

      And we love you, Ann. In fact, my husband said to inform you that in our house, you are mispocah (Yiddish for family).

      Reply
      • 55. Ann S.  |  August 5, 2010 at 11:38 am

        Thank you! Tell your husband that I am honored. In our house, you both are ohana (Hawaiian for family). (I’m not Hawaiian, although my mother grew up there.)

        Reply
  • 56. A morning cuppa Prop 8 « Prop 8 Trial Tracker  |  August 5, 2010 at 8:16 am

    […] more legal analysis, NOM’s livechat FAIL, Obama WH reaction, and photos from rallies in SF; videos galore including last night’s Maddow episode; and Maggie channeling the Cold War. Peruse […]

    Reply
  • 57. Brad  |  August 5, 2010 at 9:13 am

    ‎”We’ve got to stop thinking about equality in terms of conservative or liberal. We need to start thinking about the fact that gay and lesbian citizens are our brothers and our sisters. They are entitled to equal places in our society. That should be a conservative value. It is also a liberal value. It is not something that should split us.” — Conservative Republican Ted Olson, Aug. 4, 2010, on MSNBC’s Rachel Maddow Show.

    Reply
  • 58. James Tuttle  |  August 5, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Wow the video of the reaction when the decision was handed down was really awesome. Felt like I was experiencing it all over again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Support the Prop 8 Trial Tracker

Connect with us

Get to know your fellow Prop 8 Trial Trackers on Facebook.

Please send tips to prop8trial@couragecampaign.org

Follow us on Twitter @EqualityOnTrial

Sign-up for updates on the Prop 8 trial, including breaking-news alerts.

Categories

TWITTER: Follow us @EqualityOnTrial

Share this

Bookmark and Share

SITE STATS (by Wordpress)

  • 4,585,303 views of the Tracker and counting as of today...