You inspired today’s email action in response to the Prop 8 stay

August 17, 2010 at 4:00 pm 90 comments

by Adam Bink

“I cried when I heard the news…  This straight ally will not give up the fight… I will do everything I can to see (that) your love gets the recognition it deserves… Until all of us are free, none of us are.” — John, who posted this comment on Courage’s Prop 8 Trial Tracker web site, one of 463 comments shared by the P8TT community last night.

That was the lead text of an e-mail blast Courage Campaign sent out earlier today to its list. And as you can see, the inspiration came from right here on Prop 8 Trial Tracker- last night, even.

Last night’s 9th Circuit decision was a mixed bag. A disappointment to me, definitely. Or as Regina Spektor says in the video Courage Campaign is re-launching today, “it breaks my heart”:

But there was good news in an expedited appeal, and in that the 9th Circuit places the further onus on the proponents on Prop 8 to prove they have standing. Headway, my friends. And it’s time to keep building.

That’s why Courage Campaign is asking you to watch “It Breaks Your Heart” and then sign the “1 Million for Marriage Equality” pledge.

Brian Brown said on the NOM tour that NOM would try to get “2 million for separate but unequal marriage” by November. Maggie’s said it in the past, too. But with the #FAIL that the NOM tour has been, we think they’re going to become a problem for the anti-equality movement- and we’re going to help make them that way by exposing the ugly face of their backers and what nonsense underlies their arguments.

Meanwhile, it’s our opportunity to build our strength to keep moving forward.

So channel John from the comments, and sign the pledge. And ask other allies- straight and LGBT- to do so, too. You can use the content we’ve posted here on the blog, like yesterday’s NOM supporter saying single-parent families are oxymorons, or the day before with the man in Harrisburg obsessed with sodomy.

This is NOM’s face. Ours is the face of love and equality. We all know it. Now it’s time to make sure our friends, neighbors, and colleagues know it- and join our campaign to do something about it.

Below the fold, I’ve added the original “Fidelity” video that has been watched more than 1.3 million times on Vimeo and YouTube as well as the full email action that Courage sent today.

“Fidelity” (produced prior to the California Supreme Court’s ruling on Prop 8 and the 18,000 marriages conducted between June and November of 2008 in California):

Today’s email action:

Courage Campaign

“I cried when I heard the news…  This straight ally will not give up the fight… I will do everything I can to see (that) your love gets the recognition it deserves… Until all of us are free, none of us are.” — John, who posted this comment on Courage’s Prop 8 Trial Tracker web site, one of 463 comments shared by the P8TT community last night.

Dear Eden —

It breaks our hearts as well, John.

Late yesterday, the U.S. 9th Circuit Court of Appeals announced an indefinite stay of Judge Walker’s ruling striking down Proposition 8. No matter the legal justification for the stay, this news is deeply painful for millions of Americans.

The (very) good news is that the 9th Circuit expedited the case for a hearing on December 6 — an unusual fast-tracking of the appeals process and a positive sign of what may come.

Still, this is a difficult reminder that the work to restore marriage equality to California — and to make marriage equality the law across America — will be a roller-coaster full of ups and downs.

That’s why we’re relaunching “It Breaks Your Heart” — a 60-second version of an online video we released last year that was viewed by more than 1.3 million people. Featuring the hit song “Fidelity” by Regina Spektor, the video’s message is crystal clear: fundamental civil rights should never be put up for a vote.

Please watch “It Breaks Your Heart” now. Then join more than 700,000 other Courage Campaign members in taking our “1 Million for Marriage Equality” pledge today. It only takes one minute to watch the video and 10 seconds to sign the short pledge. Click here now to join us:

http://www.couragecampaign.org/1Million

When you sign the pledge, you’ll be joining a movement to change the conversation about equality across our country and bring the Prop 8 trial into the lives of Americans. It started with our Testimony: Equality on Trial campaign and it won’t stop until a court ruling strikes down Prop 8. Forever.

In the coming weeks and months, we’ll be launching several actions to give Americans — straight, gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender — the opportunity to provide your own Testimony about the Prop 8 trial.

Whether in writing, video, or through family photos, your personal testimony will help us defend Judge Walker’s ruling in the court of public opinion — establishing his decision as the social and cultural foundation for victory in the U.S. 9th Circuit Court of Appeals.

Just like John said above, we must stay in this fight until we win. That’s why we’re asking you to spend one minute watching “It Breaks Your Heart” — and then 10 more seconds to sign our “1 Million for Marriage Equality” pledge. Click here to take action now:

http://www.couragecampaign.org/1Million

Thank you for staying in this fight until Prop 8 is gone. For good. We can’t do it without you.

Rick Jacobs
Chair, Courage Campaign Institute

Courage Campaign Institute is a part of the Courage Campaign’s multi-issue online organizing network that empowers more than 700,000 grassroots and netroots supporters to push for progressive change and full equality in California and across the country. To get involved in the Courage Campaign Institute, visit “Testimony: Equality on Trial” — our year-long campaign to bring the Prop 8 trial into the lives of Americans.

Entry filed under: Community/Meta.

Videos: Courage Campaign’s Rick Jacobs confronts NOM’s Brian Brown, Harry Jackson, and other coverage from DC Prop 8 trial post-stay roundup (“Lesbians Love Boies” edition): Cooper’s strategy, Plaintiffs on MSNBC, and AFER’s Boutrous

90 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alan E.  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Loved it!

    Reply
    • 2. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:05 pm

      scribing

      Reply
      • 3. JonT  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:57 pm

        $ make love
        make: *** No rule to make target `love’. Stop.

        (missed this one – scribing).

        Reply
    • 4. Ann S.  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:06 pm

      scribbity-scribe

      Reply
    • 5. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:15 pm

      scribin’ while sobbin’

      Reply
      • 6. ĶĭŗîļĺęΧҲΪ  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:41 pm

        Love the “Fidelity” song!
        It’s always featured on my YouTube channel!

        Reply
    • 7. AndrewPDX  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:40 pm

      Scribin’.. not like I’m gonna get to these emails anytime soon.

      Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
      Andrew

      Reply
  • 8. Alyson  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    I wanted to comment in a previous thread when someone – in their pain regarding the stay – suggested our straight allies were disingenuos. Taking my girls to their lgbt affirming preschool in the heart of yes on 8 territory here in CA got in the way of this post being timely to thst issue but I am including it here:

    open letter to our straight allies,

    in the midst of my heartbreak over the passage of prop 8, the one fact that kept me going was that 48% of voters in CA did see through the lies and the bs. I was so shocked and didn’t feel nearly as alone because of that number. I KNOW that lgbt people don’t represent 48% and I was so touched by the men and women who, seemingly unaffected by prop 8 directly, made a point to go vote from the straight allies marching in the streets to the casual teenager who told me casual said ‘yeah, whatever, voted no, it’s stupid’.

    That summer I was so aware of how outnumbered lgbt people were – and lgbt families with kids like mine were. I will be forever grateful to everyone of you who voted for equality. We need you and you showed up and we can’t do this alone.

    Thank You,

    Alyson, Jackie (married sept 2008, together 10 years)
    and twin daughters Honor and Devon
    Yuba-Sutter counties (70% yes on H8)

    Reply
    • 9. ElsieH  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:34 pm

      This straight ally isn’t going anywhere and there is nothing that is said from pain or anger that will make me go away.

      Reply
    • 10. fiona64  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:44 pm

      Thank you, Alyson.

      I signed the pledge (of course), just as I’ve been working on marriage equality issues since 2000.

      My dog in this fight is equality. I won’t pretend that those comments about straight allies were anything but hurtful to me and to others who have been feeling the pain with our GLBT brothers and sisters.

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
    • 11. nightshayde  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:45 pm

      You’re incredibly welcome! I will be celebrating, hopefully in West Hollywood, when marriage equality finally takes hold here in California for good.

      Reply
    • 12. Ann S.  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:48 pm

      Alyson, this straight ally was out campaigning against Prop 8 in 2008, staffing booths, phonebanking, donating, doing visibility events, reminding people to vote “no” near polling places, protesting afterwards, all of it. I’m not going anywhere.

      Congratulations on your marriage!

      Reply
      • 13. Straight Grandmother  |  August 18, 2010 at 11:10 am

        Ann S YOU are A W S O M E!!!!

        FIONA YOU TOO

        It is one thing to be a straight Ally, it is quite another to roll up your sleeves and get out on the streets to actively work for Gender Neutral Marriage.

        Reply
      • 14. Ann S.  |  August 18, 2010 at 11:19 am

        @SG, you are very kind. There was no way I could sit by and just watch Prop 8 pass. Election night was hard — I worked at one of the polls, then came home and watched the news. I was happy that Obama won, but devastated that Prop 8 won.

        Reply
    • 15. Kate  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      My dear, dear straight allies:

      What you mean to me personally is beyond definition. It is because of you that I now know that it’s possible for straight people to believe in equality, much less give dedicate to it the way you have. From my heart, I thank you. When I came out to my bio-family over 30 years ago, I was immediately disowned and told I was dead. I never again heard a single word from any of them — parents, grandparents, siblings, aunts, uncles, nephews and nieces. Not. A. Word. I was dead, after all. This is what straight people have been to me, in my mind and in my life, until I started tentatively poking my head out of the cave where I had hidden myself away in self-hatred and found ….. you. All of you. You here, and the “you” who I met even before finding this site. PFLAG parents! P8TT straight allies! You are the ones who have taught me that family is CHOSEN. And I choose you. All of you.

      Kate

      Reply
      • 16. Kate  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:36 pm

        typing too fast again … should be “much less dedicate to it” (no “give”). Make more sense?

        Reply
      • 17. Ann S.  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:40 pm

        Kate, I’m sorry you had to suffer so much pain. You are very much alive to me and all of us here.

        Reply
      • 18. Straight Ally #3008  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:51 pm

        Kate, I can’t even fathom what you went through. What kind of belief system turns parents against their own children? Decades from now, I expect I’ll share stories like this with young students, and they’ll marvel that society was ever that backwards.

        Reply
      • 19. Sheryl  |  August 18, 2010 at 12:06 am

        Kate, I am so sorry for all that you have been put thru by people who should have loved you unconditionally. Do know that not all straight families disown their children. My son is gay, he is the light of my life. He deserves the right to live life as it is best for him not as determined by people who think it is a “sin” and he should repent. AND, all LGBT people deserve that same right. Therefore, I will do what I can when I can. And, as I told my son, even if he were not gay, I believe in equality for all and would have voted no on 8. There is no way that allowing the LGBT community to have the same rights I have will negatively affect my life. And, there is no reason that people should be made to feel like they are second class citizens.

        Sheryl, Mormon mother to a wonderful son who just happens to be gay

        Reply
      • 20. Straight Grandmother  |  August 18, 2010 at 11:21 am

        Kate, FWIW I jsut want to tell you that your family is F*ed up. 30 Years ago times were different, Don who posts sometimes here reminds us.(I wish I rememberd how to use italics because I would Italicize the next word) When you came out to them 1in the 1980’s if *they* wanted to stay in the closet about you that is one thing, however they should have never ever cut you off. I never ever ever ever will understand how a parent can do that to their child.

        What kind of brothers and sisters and even aunts and uncles do you have that would do such a thing? I am just outraged by what you wrote. Honest question for you, did you move away and they lost any chance of finding you, like no phone number no address?

        Reply
    • 21. Josiah  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:19 pm

      Another straight ally here — and although I’m temporarily in exile in Red America, I’m not going to let that stop me from working for marriage equality.

      Reply
      • 22. Straight Grandmother  |  August 18, 2010 at 11:23 am

        You are needed even more in the Red States.

        Reply
      • 23. Josiah  |  August 18, 2010 at 11:28 am

        I’m not sure how much good I can do in one year in Tennessee, but I’ll try my darnedest.

        Reply
    • 24. Straight Ally #3008  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:54 pm

      Alyson,

      We are legion, growing in number by the day, and many will join the fight with just a bit of nudging. I didn’t personally realize the extent of the problem until after the passage of Prop 8 – trust me, NOM and their cronies drew a whole bunch of attention to the situation, and history will not paint them in a kind light.

      Reply
  • 25. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Signed and forwarded. Also facebooked. We have got to win this case in court, and we also have to help turn the tide with regard to the court of public opinion. BZ and I will have to make two trips out of state to get married, and even then, our marriage will not be recognized as legal in our home state, and I will do all I can to make sure that if any of our grandchildren are gay they get the chance to marry the love of their life at a location of their choice, not a location determined by where it is legal. Nobody should have to face this additional hardship to have legal recognition of their marriage.

    Reply
    • 26. Lee  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      I have a question about that, if you know. If you get married out of state now and it’s not recognized by your home state, when the day comes that the whole country legalizes marriage, is it something you’d have to do over (as far as getting the paperwork, whatever that entails) or are you good to go?

      I thought about heading to Massachusetts with my partner because it’s not that far, but then found out it wouldn’t be recognized in West Virginia, and decided, “What’s the point?” If you’ve got some insight, let me know. It just feels to me like if it’s not real when we get home, then…it’s not real.

      Reply
      • 27. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:29 pm

        Hi Lee, IANAL or a big brain, but I think that some states already recognize marriages from other states (like NY which doesn’t have SSM, but recognizes it from states that do.)

        Someone else can answer your question a bit better though…

        Reply
      • 28. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:35 pm

        From what I understand, it would be grandfathered in once marriage equality is nationwide, much the way interracial marriages were once the decision inLoving v. Virginia was handed down. Go for it. But, Lee, DC is a lot closer than Massachusetts, and they don’t have a residency requirement. I than Massachusetts does.

        Reply
      • 29. Anna Bryan  |  August 17, 2010 at 6:33 pm

        I think Massachusetts ended their residency requirements less than a year after the court decision when they realized that gays getting married simply wasn’t a big deal.

        Reply
      • 30. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:40 pm

        Mass did remove its residence requirement, but there’s a 3 day waiting period between applying and being issued a marriage license, per information from GLAD.
        http://www.glad.org/uploads/docs/…/how-to-get-married-ma.pdf

        Reply
      • 31. Shelly & Simie 4 ever  |  August 18, 2010 at 5:11 am

        the commitment you make is real it’s just the stupid federal law that does not recognize it yet and i say yet because soon it will be federally recognized as long as we all stick 2gether & fight NOM!!! I would say do a search on the areas close to where you live now for which areas recognize glbt marriage and move there that is what my wife and i plan on doing we will have to move somewhere where it is federally recognized our life is on hold we are in limbo because of all of this we duno where 2 go Cali or Canada our children & grandchildren live in the U.S. so Canada is closer than Italy (where we r now) My wife is Italain so the issue 4 us is that i can not sponsor her as my wife!! So we r bi–national right now. So i know how u feel.

        Reply
    • 32. Lee  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:45 pm

      Thanks for the info!

      I didn’t think about the residency requirements. They just have to make it miserably complicated, don’t they? @_@

      Well, it’s something to think about. I’m hoping that by the time we’re ready for the big day we can have our pick of places, including home.

      It’s kind of a surprise that my boyfriend inadvertently spoiled, but he’s proposing to me next month on the anniversary of the date we met. ^^; So I’ve just got marriage on the brain and it’s hard to calm down, even though I know we likely have a decade more to wait for it…

      Reply
      • 33. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:47 pm

        MAZEL TOV!!!!! Way to go!. Please make sure you have plenty of pictures to post on flickr and FB so that you can upload a link here and let everybody go crazy looking at them.

        Reply
      • 34. Lee  |  August 17, 2010 at 6:07 pm

        Pictures of what?! lol

        I’m shy. I’ll just make a happy squeal and run. haha

        Reply
    • 35. Rhonda  |  August 18, 2010 at 7:16 am

      CT has no residency requirement and you can marry same day as you apply in most counties (some counties require a 1 day wait). We used Mary Pugh, a J.P. in Norwalk CT. She was great.

      Reply
      • 36. mary@ct-jp.com  |  August 18, 2010 at 2:46 pm

        Rhonda

        Thanks so much for mentioning me in this blog. Wow, I have married so many same sex couples now…it is thrilling. It was so much fun marrying you and Sue.

        I also married Rachel and Rachel who won a contest on the TYRA BANKS show so that was televised last May 27th.

        I appreciate your comment!!
        Would love to see you both again!!

        Reply
  • 37. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    This posted on EQCA facebook page:
    “San Francisco District Attorney and California Attorney General Candidate Kamala Harris will be on Larry King Live tonight to talk about the Prop. 8 federal case! She has said that she would not defend Prop. 8 in court if elected. The show should be on at 6 pm PST and again at 9 pm PST, but check the listings for your area to make sure you catch it.”

    Reply
    • 38. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm

      Recently “out” Stephanie Miller will also be on Larry King Live tonight.

      Reply
  • 39. jml  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    requesting notification of feedback to this post

    Reply
    • 40. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:25 pm

      LOL, that’s a great way of putting it!

      Reply
  • 41. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    REUTERS: UPDATE 1-
    California gay marriage case hangs on technicality

    Excerpt from article: NEVER ABANDON WINNING ARGUMENT

    Same sex marriage advocates, who entered the case saying they wanted to take the issue to the U.S. Supreme Court to set national policy, now appear ready to limit the immediate fight to California.

    “Our strong preference is to litigate this on the merits all the way through (to the Supreme Court) and prevail, but we would never cast aside a winning argument,” said Ted Boutrous, one of the lawyers taking on the California ban.

    If California courts reach a decision in favor of gay marriage, “It would be a powerful weapon in the battle for marriage equality across this country,” said Boutrous.

    It would also encourage gay rights advocates who had long avoided a federal court battle for fear that the Supreme Court would rule against them.

    Kate Kendell, executive director of the National Center for Lesbian Rights, said if California’s ban on same-sex matrimony if lifted permanently, it would have a “catalytic effect” on the gay marriage debate across the United States.

    Kendell favors pursuing a ruling limited to California, in the hope of securing a victory, rather than risk taking the fight to the Supreme Court.

    Full Article: http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSN1713489720100817

    Reply
    • 42. Don in Texas  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:49 pm

      I posted this on an earlier thread, but it bears repeating:

      A constitutional right is NOT a “technicality.”

      Marriage is a fundamental right that is part of the “liberty” guaranteed by the 5th and 14th amendments. Marriage cannot be limited to a defined group in violation of the equal protection clause of the 14th amendment.

      Judge Walker made this very clear in his eloquent, sweeping decision that is grounded in established Constitutional law.

      Reply
      • 43. Josiah  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:25 pm

        I think that the “technicality” in this case would be the proponents’ lack of standing for an appeal, not marriage equality itself. If the Ninth Circuit rules that the proponents lack standing to appeal, then Judge Walker’s ruling would stand. Nobody could say that Judge Walker’s ruling was based on a technicality, but they could say that the fact that there were no further appeals was.

        Reply
  • 44. Tim in Sonoma  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    I can see the benefit of winning in California first, but that makes me feel a little selfish.We are ALL in this together!

    Reply
    • 45. carpoolcookie  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      Yes, I know what you mean (I’m in California, too.) But if the Prop H8 people are ruled as having no standing, it’s not like our side can petition the court to have that allowed. At least, I’ve never heard of such a thing. As attorneys, they;re supposed to look out for the interests of their formal clients….and to put a “win” for them in jeapordy by arguing before a higher court when it isn’t necessary to acheive their initial goal….they could get disbarred for that! (Keep in mind I’m quite the drama queen and good at setting off RUMORS.) Anyway….there still quite a bit of road ahead. The appeal issue won’t just go off quietly into the good night : )

      Reply
  • 46. carpoolcookie  |  August 17, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Wow…our John is now FAMOUS! Woooooooo!!!

    I’m always especially touched when I see PFLAG groups, family members, friends and just straight fellow human beings at marches, or offering support, or on the way to the voting booth. These people don’t have to do anything for us, but they do. Because they realize we’re all connected.

    I felt the same bitersweet fondness when I was watching a series on the Civil Rights Movement of the 60’s, and they showed that a lot of organization and support in the South was offered by Jewish college students from the East, who motored down and put themselves in harm’s way by helping.

    People usually want to do things the easist way possible and will not MOVE or go a step out of their WAY unless they’re poked QUITE HARD. All the straight people who’ve helped fight for marriage equality are the opposite of that, and are truly exceptional people. I love them!

    Reply
    • 47. John  |  August 17, 2010 at 6:18 pm

      Wow, I’m really touched that my words and feelings could help this cause.

      But the real heroes are the people here who live a life of love in the midst of the hate of others. That is what takes courage.

      As for some of the things said about allies, as an ally, I’m only an ally so long as the people with the most at stake think I’m on the right track. If I were to do things my way instead of taking direction from the LGBT community, I’d be no ally. We’re guests who come from a position of privilege – and I think it is important to remember that, as I think it provides the context for the dialog about the role of allies in the LGBT fight for equality. (a complete tangent: often equality seems to a privileged group as if the privileged group is *losing* a *right*, not as if their privilege is merely now shared with with another group; If you have always lived with a privilege, you typically don’t see it as a privilege – you see it as a right; So I can believe that sometimes straight allies don’t help things either, as I’ve seen in other minority communities a backlash from supposed allies who belong to the privileged majority when those “allies” find out that they aren’t the ones who will be setting the agenda regarding the minority – a privilege that they have without equality; and these are people who say they *want* equality!)

      Reply
      • 48. Josiah  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:28 pm

        Well said, John. Privilege is always invisible to those who have it; as Orwell said, it takes a constant struggle to see what’s right in front of our noses.

        Reply
  • 49. JC (1 of the 18,000 in CA)  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I just posted the video to my Facebook page with the lead in: What if we could vote on [insert your life here]?

    I’m sure that many of my conserva-family and high school friends from the cornfield have “hidden” me on on their FB pages, but I’m gonna keep posting thought provoking things like this. Thank you, Courage Campaign, for giving us good tools to keep sharing out there.

    Reply
  • 50. Lee  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Watched, signed, and donated.

    Reply
  • 51. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Question with a big Q. If Meg Whitman is voted as Governor of California and she does seek to appeal this case – would that add credibility for the proponents to the 9th on the appeal? I mean considering opening brief, answering brief and reply brief would have already been submitted…so what would it be, if anything, she could add to the case?

    Prop. 8 gay marriage delay a ‘good thing’ for eager couples?

    A new governor could change this, but she would have to act quickly,” says Roithmayr. “The court might go ahead and hear arguments but not make its decision immediately. My guess is that they wouldn’t close the window if the governor decided to act.

    Full Article: http://www.csmonitor.com/USA/2010/0817/Prop.-8-gay-marriage-delay-a-good-thing-for-eager-couples

    Reply
    • 52. Josiah  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:33 pm

      Thanks for that link, LLB.

      What I like best from that article is this quote:

      “The media should be focusing on the absence of harm demonstrated at trial by the Pro-8 side,” [UC Irvine law professor Tony Smith] says. “The witnesses for them conceded that same-sex marriage doesn’t harm heterosexual couples in any way, and that the ban on same-sex marriages directly harms families,” says Mr. Smith. “Given that over 36,000 gay and lesbians got married in California in the brief period when it was legal, if harm occurs from same-sex marriages, the appellants should have been able to demonstrate it.”

      And yet they were not able to do so. Hmm…

      Reply
      • 53. Mouse  |  August 18, 2010 at 7:59 am

        It’s almost two years now, and my husband and I have yet to desanctify a single marriage.

        Reply
      • 54. Kathleen  |  August 18, 2010 at 10:33 am

        LOL. Try harder. :)

        Reply
  • 55. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    For those who subscribe to the e-notice list in the case, the series of documents that were just filed have to do with Plaintiffs’ and Plaintiff-Intervenor’s request to extend the time allowed to “file a motion for attorney’s fees and related expenses until 30 days after all appeals become final.”

    They’re asking for an extension of time because (1) considering the scope of the action, the motion is likely to be time-consuming, (2) they want to “commit their full litigation resources to the appeal at this time” and (3) it “would allow any motion for fees and related expenses to proceed only at such time as the prevailing party has been finally determined.”

    They also ask the Court to expedite the ruling on this request.

    I’ll upload the documents if there’s interest in reading them.

    Reply
    • 56. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 6:22 pm

      I’d like to read them Kathleen. I just opened my email to see them all…thanks

      Reply
      • 57. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 6:31 pm

        Will upload now. Because there are several documents and I can only post one link at a time, probably best just to go to the main link for the Scribd account:
        http://www.scribd.com/ownbycatz

        Reply
    • 58. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 6:51 pm

      Do both sides have to file these attorney fees and related expenses at the same time?

      Reply
    • 59. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:34 pm

      Sorry that took so long. I got a phone call in the middle of uploading. There should be 6 documents, Doc 729-34.

      I don’t know anything about the law or procedure on filing for fees and expenses. Here’s the relevant rule–see beginning 54(d)
      http://www.law.cornell.edu/rules/frcp/Rule54.htm

      This appears to only be a motion available to the prevailing party.

      Reply
  • 60. bJason  |  August 17, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    The videos are absolutely beautiful!!

    Watch them again and make sure that the cuts with graphics/text hold long enough to be read. Some didn’t to me. (not that I matter). The last thing you want in the middle of something so beautiful is to have anyone come out of the moment by thinking/saying “wait, I didn’t get that last one”.

    The one for me was “PROP 8 STOPPED COMMITTED COUPLES FROM MARRYING”. The most important point and it went by much, much to quickly. I had to re-watch and Pause to read it. Others might not do that.

    Not to criticize just my thoughts. Again, they are beautiful!!!

    Reply
  • 61. JC (1 of the 18,000 in CA)  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Another great Colbert rant for our side, if you’d like another video:

    http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/350620/august-16-2010/john-fetterman?xrs=share_copy

    Reply
  • 62. Joel  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    I just read this in Time Magazine
    http://www.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,2011426-1,00.html

    “And it appears to have been a fact well understood by the proponents of Prop 8, who find themselves with their backs against a wall but not without resources. The proponents’ lead attorney, former Reagan-era Justice Department lawyer Charles Cooper, has tipped his hand about where he’ll strike with his appeal, now due Sept. 17. It’s a remarkable — and, with the court’s permission, longer than normally permitted — brief, which in 75 pages lays out a vigorous defense of Prop 8 that stands in stark contrast to the generally anemic defense his side presented at trial.”

    What document? And how exactly is he going to lay out a “vigorous defense” when no new evidence can be presented in an appeal? What is this crap?

    Reply
    • 63. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 8:06 pm

      I think the document the article refers to is the original Emergency Motion for Stay Pending Appeal filed by Proponents on 8/12.

      Reply
      • 64. Joel  |  August 17, 2010 at 8:13 pm

        The article says the brief is going to be presented on Sept 17th, though. The Emergency Motion was already filed.

        Reply
      • 65. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 8:20 pm

        Read carefully. It says, “… Cooper has tipped his hand about where he’ll strike with his appeal, now due Sept. 17. It’s a remarkable — and, with the court’s permission, longer than normally permitted — brief, which in 75 pages lays out a vigorous defense of Prop 8…”

        It’s saying Cooper gave us a clue as to what the brief due on Sept 17 will look like — the clue is in the 75 brief already filed (the emergency motion for stay).

        Reply
      • 66. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 8:23 pm

        The way the paragraph is constructed makes it confusing. I had to read it twice to see what the author meant.

        Reply
      • 67. Joel  |  August 17, 2010 at 8:43 pm

        Okay, I’ll buy that. I read it about 4 times, and still couldn’t make sense of that paragraph!

        His motion to stay was hardly a vigorous defense.

        Reply
    • 68. Carpool Cookie  |  August 17, 2010 at 8:42 pm

      I wonder what legal analyst they relied on to deem his brief on maintaining the stay “remarkable” and “vigorous”. It was all just the same hysteria moaned at trial, it seemed to me.

      Reply
      • 69. Joel  |  August 17, 2010 at 8:45 pm

        Actually, it struck me that he was trying to have the case retried, by referring to evidence that was never even entered into the record in the actual trial. He also whined a lot, and made very disparaging remarks regarding Judge Walker and the plaintiffs’ legal team.

        Reply
      • 70. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 17, 2010 at 8:48 pm

        That is what was so remarkable and vigorous about it–the amount of hysteria and moaning.

        Reply
      • 71. Elsie  |  August 17, 2010 at 9:03 pm

        The article says it’s remarkable and vigorous in comparison to their defense, not that it’s any good or skilled.

        Reply
      • 72. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 9:07 pm

        Plaintiffs say much of it is just a repeat – verbatim – of Proponents’ Motion for Summary Judgment.

        Reply
    • 73. Ann S.  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:15 pm

      That article seems hastily researched and sloppily written. I used to expect better of Time.

      Reply
      • 74. Roger  |  August 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm

        Time has always had a very strong pro-conservative bias.

        Reply
  • 75. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    No one can stand there with a bible and scream hatred and expect people to keep having faith in them.

    A multi-year study conducted by the Barna Group states that 1 out of every 8 adults have changed to thier faith to ex-christians. 23% changed from one faith to another.

    The study states that:

    Why People Change
    The survey also explored the top-of-mind reasons why people change faiths. The most common reasons for moving away from Christianity included life experiences, such as gaining new knowledge or education; feeling disillusioned with church and religion; feeling the church is hypocritical; having negative experiences in churches; being in disagreement with Christianity about specific issues such as homosexuality, abortion or birth control; feeling the church is too authoritarian; wanting to express their faith outside of church; and searching for a new faith or wanting to experience other religions.

    Read more here: http://www.barna.org/faith-spirituality/412-do-americans-change-faiths

    I have recently seen some ex catholic priests and others who have left their church recently, and who are for marriage equality. They are coming ‘out’ in their own special way more and more these days. Faith isn’t losing members because of us, it’s because of their views and actions against us.

    Reply
    • 76. JonT  |  August 17, 2010 at 9:17 pm

      Thanks as usual LLB. ‘The most common reasons for moving away from Christianity included life experiences, such as gaining new knowledge or education…

      Knowledge is power. See Texas’ proposed school curriculum as an example as to how they want to fight that ‘trend’. Knowledge is death to them. That’s why they must lose eventually. You cannot ignore the universe :)

      Science is why we’re still here. Without it, there would not be 6 billion+ people on this planet.

      :)

      Ok, time for bed. Been fun! :)

      Reply
  • 77. lee  |  August 17, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    hi everyone, im lee and new to this this site, im a straight ally and im tired of people voting on peoples rights. and make this pledge i will not stop fighting h8.

    Reply
    • 78. Ann S.  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:17 pm

      Welcome, Lee!

      Reply
    • 79. Kathleen  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:22 pm

      Hi Lee, glad you dropped by. Hope you stick around!

      Reply
    • 80. Alan E.  |  August 18, 2010 at 7:37 am

      HI Lee! Thanks for your support. Without people like you, we would not see a case like this even come to fruition.

      Reply
      • 81. lee  |  August 18, 2010 at 8:42 am

        thanks , i came to california about 2 months ago, i heared about prop h8 and the trial about a week later, it made me and my girlfriend so mad that people voted to take peoples rights away.

        Reply
    • 82. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  August 18, 2010 at 11:03 am

      Welcome to the family, Lee!

      Reply
  • 83. Lesbians Love Boies  |  August 17, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Okay, how come this young person ‘truly understands life.’

    She is right on the spot on every point…another president hopeful?

    Reply
    • 84. Ronnie  |  January 30, 2011 at 10:40 am

      “another president hopeful?”

      I concur…..the youth have spoken…..<3 & a ; ) ……Ronnie

      Reply
  • 85. Jim  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    I was moved to tears by both Courage Campaign videos. You’d have to have a pretty hard heart not to. Great job!

    Reply
  • 86. Tim  |  August 18, 2010 at 5:15 am

    Hello, Madam President! I am in total agreement with your views and suggest that you continue on. You are an incredible thinker and would leave a heavy and bright mark on the world for the people to see and wake up! My heart is alive again, so thank you.

    Reply
  • 87. Rose  |  August 18, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Beautiful video. Can we get this on television? Or a similar one on radio? That’s still the best way to reach people

    Reply
  • 88. lee  |  August 18, 2010 at 10:56 am

    i love this video

    Reply
    • 89. Kathleen  |  August 18, 2010 at 11:28 am

      Beautiful.

      Reply
    • 90. Tim  |  August 19, 2010 at 6:20 am

      lee, that was a great video. we are all human. no less…
      when people use so many verses from the bible for hate, i hope they learn what jesus said when he was asked what was the greatest commandment, he said love god, and the second one is to love your neighbor as yourself….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Support the Prop 8 Trial Tracker

Connect with us

Get to know your fellow Prop 8 Trial Trackers on Facebook.

Please send tips to prop8trial@couragecampaign.org

Follow us on Twitter @EqualityOnTrial

Sign-up for updates on the Prop 8 trial, including breaking-news alerts.

Categories

TWITTER: Follow us @EqualityOnTrial

Share this

Bookmark and Share

SITE STATS (by Wordpress)

  • 4,585,303 views of the Tracker and counting as of today...