This is sickening

October 13, 2010 at 12:01 pm 106 comments

(I wrote that headline and that’s how I feel after watching the video below. Absolutely nauseous. I’ve been to more than 100 baseball games — mostly in San Francisco and Oakland — and never witnessed this kind of behavior. It’s revolting, especially in light of the teen suicides that this bullying fuels. Watch the video, if you haven’t already, and then post your reactions in the comments. Cross-posted from Good As You. — Eden)

By Jeremy Hooper

Prolific video dude Sean Chapin takes on the so-called “Bleacher Creatures,” the right field fans who are fiercely committed to supporting the Yankees, to embarrassing anyone around them who dares to root otherwise, and to keeping homosexuality as fodder for aggressive straight male “jokes”:



[Sean Chapin]

Entry filed under: Community/Meta, Right-wing.

Are you an anti-LGBT conservative? Did you just sound like a homophobe? Then this piece is for you. BREAKING: Obama administration expected to appeal DADT ruling

106 Comments Add your own

  • 2. GALY  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    These types of straight bastions, and the so called no-homo movement needs to be called out whenever it rears it’s ugly head.

    Reply
  • 3. Sparky  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    I have never wanted the Giants to win a series so badly in my life.

    Reply
    • 4. Alan E.  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:20 pm

      A lot of gays have been behind them this year.

      Reply
    • 5. Rhie  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:06 pm

      Knew there was a reason I hate the Yankees.

      Seriously, Creatures is a good word for such vile idiots. They certainly aren’t human.

      Reply
  • 6. Jon  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Yikes. I’ve been to countless Dodgers and Angels games in Southern California and you don’t see that there either. Wow.

    Reply
    • 7. A.J.  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:12 pm

      The fact that these are Yankee fans doesn’t surprise me…but I was referred to as a “Beantown faggot” at an LA Angels game last season. Unfortunately it’s happening everywhere.

      Reply
  • 8. Richard A. Walter (soon to be Walter-Jernigan)  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    All I can add to Eden’s headline is that the police need to take these fools and lock them up. And someone really needs to take them to a psychologist and have them evaluated to see what is so frightening about themselves that they have to lash out at other people in order to feel human.

    Reply
    • 9. Ann S.  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:12 pm

      What a bunch of maroons. And if called on this, they would try to pass this off as “just a joke”. Idiots.

      Reply
  • 10. Kathleen  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Reply
    • 11. JonT  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:13 pm

      Oscar Mike.

      Reply
  • 12. Bill  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Angry.

    Heterosexuals can be SO vile.

    Reply
    • 13. Bennett  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:19 pm

      How vile can they be? How free a pass with off we let them? Oh how their children need to be educated.

      Reply
    • 14. rosebud  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      PEOPLE can be SO vile

      Reply
      • 15. Bill  |  October 13, 2010 at 4:40 pm

        But you don’t ever see groups of gay people doing this.

        Reply
      • 16. fiona64  |  October 13, 2010 at 4:42 pm

        Nor do you see most straight people doing it.

        Being an asshat knows no sexual orientation.

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
      • 17. John  |  October 13, 2010 at 5:18 pm

        I’ve seen GLB people throw T people “under the bus” a few times. I’ve seen GLBT people make bigoted statements about religious people (not just anti-gay religious people, but religious people in general). I can’t say I’ve seen them shouting while drunk at a bunch of straight people at a baseball game, but I suspect that’s more to do with lack of majority privilege than intrinsic goodness (because of majority privilege, straight guys doing this too often get away with it; gay guys would be beat up if they tried the same thing; surely that impacts decision making by gays).

        I will say that GLBT people are discriminated against and we need to fight that. But I think the minute *anyone* thinks they have a characteristic that makes them “above evil”, there’s a problem. That’s a problem with the religious right (“God told me, so I can’t be wrong”). But it can be a problem with anyone.

        Reply
      • 18. Dave in ME  |  October 14, 2010 at 4:48 am

        I’ve seen drunk gay men in clubs and sober gay men in everyday life say the most horrible things about women, straights, blacks, and Mexicans. Lately, I have heard very nasty things said about God and those who believe in Him.

        JonT is right-no one group is above the other and that’s something we, as a community, must always remember.

        Dave in Maine

        Reply
      • 19. Rhie  |  October 15, 2010 at 10:32 pm

        Bill – oh sure you do. For starters, check out Dan Savage’s comments on women, bisexuals and people of color. The man is a racist sexist biphobe. It’s really a shame that he is hailed as a hero/spokesperson for LGBT.

        Many times the T is thrown under the bus by the community. Many times gays of color are thrown under the bus. Read the comments of my friend who is gay and black. He has repeatedly said he hears more racist crap from gays than from white straight men.

        None of this means that all LGBT are bad people. They aren’t. Not all straight people are saints, not all of them are evil either. People are people. Being straight doesn’t make a person a jerk; being LGBT or any other minority doesn’t make a person a saint.

        Reply
    • 20. JonT  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:39 pm

      As others have mentioned, please don’t use such a wide brush.

      I’ve met white people who still refer to black people by the ‘N’ word, believe it or not. That doesn’t mean all white people are racists.

      There are straight allies in this very community.

      I myself have been guilty of painting all Christians as bigots and homophobes. I’ve since learned that that is not the case.

      Assholes are assholes, regardless of color, orientation, religion, shoe size, whatever.

      Assholes are just assholes.

      Reply
  • 21. AndrewPDX  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Sigh… Drunk, straight guys… sounds pretty typical to me, unfortunately. I like the ending tagline ‘homophobia literally kills’.

    I’m assuming everyone here will be wearing tons of purple on the 20th, yes?

    Liberty, Equality, Fraternity
    Andrew

    Reply
    • 22. elliom  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:38 pm

      Reminds me of the days when (for some reason) I thought I wanted to be in a frat. Pretty much this on a 24/7 basis.

      Reply
  • 23. Mark M. (Seattle)  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    I can’t watch video while at work….what am I missing?

    Reply
    • 24. allen  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:19 pm

      I’m with ya Mark. No videos for me either. At least I can view the text from this site.

      Reply
    • 25. eDee  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:20 pm

      Straight guys trying to harmonize while dehumanizing others

      Reply
    • 26. David in ME  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:35 pm

      Hi, Mark-

      Check out this Queerty story about it- http://www.queerty.com/yankees-bleachers-still-filled-with-ymcawhy-are-you-gay-a-capella-singers-20101011/

      Dave in Maine

      Reply
      • 27. Mark M. (Seattle)  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:41 pm

        WOW! Thanks David. I just can’t believe some people….
        UGH!!!

        Reply
    • 28. Alan E.  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:36 pm

      This, sung by a crowd, angrily at people, including younger teens.

      Gay man, get up off your knees
      I said gay man, you will catch a disease
      I said gay man, don’t touch me please
      because you have got a disease
      Gay man, wipe that sperm off your chin
      I said gay man, what you do is a sin
      I said gay man, I won’t let you in
      because you have got a disease
      Why are you gay?
      I saw you sucking a D-I-C-K

      Reply
      • 29. Alan E.  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:37 pm

        To the tune of YMCA

        Reply
      • 30. Mark M. (Seattle)  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:39 pm

        OH MY GAWD!!!!!

        Reply
      • 31. JonT  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm

        Ok, here are some lyrics, that do not relate to these particular neanderthals, but seem apropos to the American Taliban’s wish for a future America.

        Reading this story reminded me of this song.

        Bonus points to anyone who recognizes them :)


        We’ve taken care of everything,
        the books you read,
        the songs you sing,
        the pictures that give pleasure to your eye.

        Oh, what a nice contented world,
        let the banners be unfurled,
        hold the red star proudly high in hand.

        We are the Priests, of the Temples of Syrinx.
        Our great Computers, fill the Hallowed Halls.
        We are the priests, of the Temples of Syrinx.
        All the gifts of life, are held within our walls.

        :)

        Reply
  • 32. Ronnie  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Whatever happened to “Buy me some peanuts & cracker jacks”?…(by the way…the prizes they put in those boxes now suck…they suck)….. : / …Ronnie

    Reply
    • 33. fiona64  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:03 pm

      No joke, Ronnie. I remember when there were cool things like little rings and stuff. What’s up with the lousy stickers?

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
      • 34. Elizabeth Oakes  |  October 13, 2010 at 10:59 pm

        Harder to choke on a sticker. Same with the Botan Rice Candy toys too…ahh, the good old days when child safety didn’t matter.

        Reply
      • 35. fiona64  |  October 14, 2010 at 9:44 am

        If your kid is so small that they would choke on a crackerjack prize, they are too small for crackerjack, which has peanuts in it (always smaller than the prizes).

        /rant

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
      • 36. Rhie  |  October 15, 2010 at 11:02 pm

        Yup, Fiona, I agree. I was going to say “Ah for the good old days when people actually watched their kids, and told them no you can’t do that/have that.”

        Reply
  • 37. Bennett  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Ugggg does this have to stay here. I want to just bury my head in the sand and pretend this isn’t. As songs go, at least some of the anti-gay Reggae songs are catchy, this is just gross. Not going to post anything gross as a counter point to the stereotype displayed here. Wishing karma and comeuppance on these fools. I will not be forwarding this to anyone. The point can come accross without the gross factor. What do it know.

    Reply
  • 38. eDee  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    Well, that’s unnerving.

    Reply
  • 39. Lesbians Love Boies  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    counter√ing

    Reply
  • 40. Bill  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    MUST SEE VIDEO:

    http://www.dallasvoice.com/joel-burns-begs-teens-contemplating-suicide-give-chance-life-1048104.html

    JOEL BURNS FOR PRESIDENT!!!

    Reply
    • 41. bJason  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:38 pm

      EFF, yes. Joel Burns for President!!!!!

      Reply
    • 42. Santa Barbara Mom  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:38 pm

      I was just about to post that same video…………omg, it’s a “must watch” and I would recommend have tissue within reach!

      Reply
      • 43. Freddy  |  October 13, 2010 at 3:54 pm

        SBM, one of the best tear jerkers I have seen in a long time, I just wonder if the 10 minute recess was so the rest of the council could re-compose themselves. Start passing the petitions to get him on the ballot for 2012!

        Reply
    • 44. Manilow  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:06 pm

      I went from crying with rage at the video in the post – to crying with pride and love at this Joel Burns video. Amazing.

      Thank you for sharing Bill!

      Reply
    • 45. Joe  |  October 13, 2010 at 3:44 pm

      Wow, the disgusting level of hatred people are capable of never ceases to amaze me. Especially when it is likely that a good number of them claim to follow Jesus’ teachings of love and acceptance.

      This video of Joel though, that city counsel building went through a measurable increase in tissue expenses that day, I imagine. So incredibly heartfelt, too bad so many of these wonderful messages are lost preaching to the choir. If only a few minds get changed from each message like Joel’s though maybe we can end the nastiness.

      The saddest thing about the first video for me though, was that no one stood up for him, not one person said that wasn’t right.

      Reply
      • 46. Chad  |  October 13, 2010 at 11:09 pm

        That’s what I thought, too. Which is why I think a large group of people should start following where these “creatures” sit down, and crowding around them and giving them a taste of their own medicine whenever they start their crap. Even if the ball park agrees that the “creatures” are OK with their doing, they’ll be forced to put a stop to it before it gets too out-of-hand.

        Reply
  • 47. Sagesse  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Subscribing at work to view later. Not sure my stomach can stand it, tho.

    Reply
  • 48. Alan E.  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    I must say that this guy is a great role model standing up against bullying. This MMA fighter told victims of bullying to email him, and he would come to their schools to confront the bullies himself. Unfortunately/fortunately (your pick), he’s gotten thousands of emails.

    http://outsports.com/jocktalkblog/2010/10/13/mma-fighter-daniel-puder-takes-on-bullies/

    Reply
  • 49. Kevin S.  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    That… just… ugh.

    I’m a huge Yankee fan. Section 39 (at the old stadium) was my favorite place to watch the game from. It has a great view of the game, it’s where the roll call comes from, it’s where the wave goes to die. The fans there are boisterous, and it’s usually a great time.

    Before seeing this, all I had ever heard them do was turn the refrain into “Why are you gay?” Not that it makes it any more acceptable, but it was usually directed at someone wearing a Boston hat and used in the high school-ish generic putdown way. I didn’t like it, but the extent of my dislike would be to simply not participate. I was pretty happy when I sat in the bleachers last year at the new stadium and didn’t hear it at all (though someone else said they did hear it).

    This video so so horrifying, it taints every experience I’ve had out there. It makes me want to throw away my Section 39 t-shirt. It makes me embarrassed to have ever been a part of that crowd, even if I had nothing to do with this. What is it about sports that make it one of the final bastions of homophobia?

    Reply
  • 50. Tim in Sonoma  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I can’t believe this really happens! *speechless*

    Reply
  • 51. Tim  |  October 13, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    I’m 35 years old. When I was in high school at a “christian” school, I was always picked on and called a fag, queer or otherwise by my fellow students. I know what it’s like to be treated like that and it is the most miserable feeling in the world. I did try to kill myself. Thankfully what I had the rope tied to broke and I was able to think about it some more. When I saw those kids faces it brought back some serious memories and a few tears to my eyes. I’m still here today, like many of us, because of friends. Be a friend and show your help in any way you can…

    Reply
    • 52. Mark M. (Seattle)  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:04 pm

      I am SO glad you are still here with us Tim. I am glad you were as bad at suicide as I was :-)
      Big Hugs!!!
      Mark

      Reply
      • 53. John  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:00 pm

        I too am glad you are here. Every person with a story like yours gives me hope for humanity – courage and strength still exist within humankind.

        Reply
      • 54. Lora  |  October 13, 2010 at 8:36 pm

        Me too!

        Reply
    • 55. fiona64  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:06 pm

      I, too, am glad you are here to tell the story, Tim.

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
  • 56. Bill  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Couldn’t someone show this to the Yankee managment and get this group banned from entering Yankee stadium again?

    Reply
    • 57. Kevin S.  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:28 pm

      The problem is, the Bleacher Creatures aren’t some kind of group ticket sale. There’s some consistency with season ticket and partial-season ticket packages, but what do you do? Ban every fan who bought a ticket on the day of that game (even if we could date it)? Somehow try to identify who those people are/what seats they were in? Shutting down the bleachers altogether doesn’t fly because those are the cheap seats – one of the few sections where prices weren’t jacked up. I really wish the Yankees would do something about this, but it seems to me that all they can do is alert their security to be more vigilant for this type of behavior going forward (maybe ejecting people for the simplified “Why are you gay?” chants, regardless of whether they’re directed against opposing fans or people presumed to be gay?).

      Reply
      • 58. Bill  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:33 pm

        I just want them to be AWARE of it. I’ve emailed it to the management of the Yankees.

        Reply
      • 59. Kevin S.  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:36 pm

        Aware is good. I’m glad you emailed it to them. I’ll be doing it myself, adding that I won’t be returning, despite how much I care about the team, if this type of behavior persists. I definitely think they can and should stop this in the future.

        Reply
      • 60. Anonygrl  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:00 pm

        Keep security alerted, find them, kick them out. Next time they come back, do it again. Post a still from the video on the big board and announce “It has come to the attention of the Yankee Organization that we have homophobic fans in our audience, singing repulsive songs and being generally offensive to others. The Yankee Organization is disgusted by this sub human behavior and we do not want you as fans. Do us all a favor, leave and do not come back.”

        Reply
    • 61. Bill  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:32 pm

      Actually, I just emailed a link to this video to the Yankee management.

      I told them I though they might want to see it before the national media does.

      Will be emailing link to all major news outlets this afternoon.

      Reply
      • 62. Sean Chapin  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:27 pm

        To Bill,

        You may want to consider emailing out the source footage where I made my video as well:

        Also:


        Reply
    • 63. Sean Chapin  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:19 pm

      Hi Bill,
      I am the one that made the video posted here. Since making it, I have been in contact with a few people who in turn have been in contact with the Yankees. From my understanding, the Yankees had been aware of this song years ago and thought that the “Bleacher Creatures” stopped singing it, but they have now been made aware that it is still continuing after a Minnesota Twins fan spoke up about his experience from a playoff game last Saturday (what started off this entire chain reaction). The “Bleacher Creatures” have their own online bulletin board that someone posted, and they had noticed the angry reactions from the LGBT community, themselves reacting with ignorant homophobia – then one person said that he and another were being “called into the office” this Friday, and that “they are not happy” (meaning they might be meeting the Yankees about this on Friday). Since then, those on the bulletin board became aware that others were reading their messages and immediately made their board private. That’s as much as I know to this point. Sounds like the Yankees might do something about it. In the meantime, if anyone is going to the playoff game at Yankees Stadium next Monday (10/18), they should get out to section 203 when YMCA is played (i believe in the middle of the 5th inning), take out their pocket camera/cell phone and film whatever this group does and hold this group accountable for their actions.

      Reply
      • 64. JonT  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:28 pm

        Right on Sean!

        It’s comforting to know that when you shine a light on these bigots, they feel the need to go ‘underground’.

        It didn’t use to be that way. The times are a changing :)

        Keep up the excellent work!

        Reply
      • 65. Bill  |  October 13, 2010 at 4:46 pm

        Thanks for the info. I will certainly incorporate it into my emails. I’ve done a bunch so far, but will make some changes to my letter.

        Who knows, it may not go anywhere. And I don’t really care.

        But I do believe the time has come for us to show them their behavior. To show them what they look like. To shame them. These people have the nerve to treat US as sub-human?? Really??? It’s time for them to see that they are acting like friggin’ ANIMALS.

        Reply
      • 66. Elizabeth Oakes  |  October 13, 2010 at 11:08 pm

        Thanks so much for this, Sean. Isn’t it amazing how powerful being a “witness for peace” can be? When people know they are being watched and will be held accountable for their behavior, things do change. Let’s hope that change comes quickly.

        I say Sean gets the P8TT Catalyst for Change merit badge. I’ve never awarded a badge before, but I don’t think I’ll get any flack here. All in favor? :)

        Reply
      • 67. Chad  |  October 13, 2010 at 11:21 pm

        Inhospitality is what destroyed a couple of cities a long time ago. Maybe they’ll get hit by a meteor, or something.

        Reply
      • 68. Ann S.  |  October 14, 2010 at 9:52 am

        Hear, hear! I hereby award Sean the Catalyst for Change merit badge. Please wear it with pride!

        Reply
  • 69. aaron in san fran  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Looks a lot like I remember feeling in high school

    Reply
    • 70. Chad  |  October 13, 2010 at 11:23 pm

      I know that feeling.

      Reply
  • 71. Buffy  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    It is sickening, and it’s fully supported as righteous, moral, upright–or at very least a “differing point of view”–by those who want to keep us firmly under their boot heels.

    Reply
  • 72. John  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Thanks for the video, even though it is incredibly hard to watch – sometimes us straight folk need a reminder of what others of our kind do, so that we can be reminded that this is a real problem, one that we can and should stand up to.

    As for wearing purple, I don’t currently own anything purple, but I will own something for the 20th. I often am looking for ways to show that someone else cares. I know that the a person’s knowledge that there is a supportive person – even if they don’t have a lot of contact with that person – can mean the difference between life and death. It’s about knowing you aren’t alone. And if a purple shirt can be one way of giving someone hope and knowledge that others care, I’ll gladly do it. I know this is just one tiny part of what needs to happen, but it’s the many tiny things that make the big change.

    A message from me to any younger adults or youth here: The times are a’changing! PLEASE HANG IN THERE WITH US (you are NOT alone)!!! Unfortunately $#@! like the garbage in this video still happens, but I’ve seen tremendous change in the world – and it’s going to continue. You have this straight ally’s support – and I’m not alone.

    Reply
  • 73. fiona64  |  October 13, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.

    Sports do not create sportsmanship; they only demonstrate the sportsmanship you already possess.

    It’s high time we stop treating jocks (and their fans) like royalty, if you ask me …

    Love,
    Fiona

    Reply
    • 74. Judy  |  October 13, 2010 at 3:07 pm

      YES. I’ve long complained about taking up time in a so-called News show to talk about people playing with balls. It’s people playing games with balls, for cryin’ out loud!

      As for promoting cooperative attitude, I like what my ex said once, “Show me one time a player helped the other team get the ball to their goal.”

      Reply
      • 75. John  |  October 13, 2010 at 4:07 pm

        Here’s a video of a great fan:

        Not all fans are losers. :)

        I do think that it is how we react when we aren’t “at the top of our game” that defines us as humans. Either we get drunk and spew hate, or we reach over and share love with another person. It’s when things aren’t going perfect that our hearts are expressed.

        Reply
  • 76. Carpool Cookie  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Nice comment from someone at the YouTube site, answering a post “Did anyone die from this song??”

    ———————————————–

    “Do you actually have to see bodies before you can admit that something is wrong?…..Did you drive your car on the sidewalk until the first time you ran over someone, then decided that it was wrong to do so? Is that what it takes?”

    Reply
  • 77. Bill  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    The Alliance Defense Fund filed a cert petition Tuesday on behalf of members of the Stand4Marriage D.C. Coalition asking the Supreme Court to hear its case against the district’s Board of Elections and Ethics.

    Harry Jackson is at it again…

    http://www.charismamag.com/index.php/news/29411-group-takes-dc-marriage-battle-to-supreme-court

    Reply
    • 78. Kathleen  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:16 pm

      Thanks for posting this, Bill. I knew this was coming, but had kind of lost track of it.

      Reply
    • 79. Ronnie  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:16 pm

      How many times do the they need to hear the word “NO” from the Supreme Court before they actually are able to comprehend it?….oh I forgot…it didn’t come from the Bible so it doesn’t count…honestly these anti-gay ding bats really do believe they are above the law….I’ve said it before & I’ll say it again delusion is a serious mental disorder & is brainwashed into the dense tiny minds of the religious right…. : / …Ronnie

      Reply
  • 80. Rich  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Those idiots are why I am a high school teacher, out, proud and determined to pursue equality, acceptance and respect from and among all of our students. Bullying can be found anywhere but here’s the challenge: who will stand up to it and them, the bleacher idiots? Everyone must speak out…everywhere it happens to anyone but, especially, every time it affects a child.

    Reply
    • 81. Elizabeth Oakes  |  October 13, 2010 at 11:17 pm

      I have a fantasy that like, a hundred Sister of Perpetual Indulgence and many of their sparkly friends sit together in that section and sing glorious songs in praise of the Yankees, and then the Bleacher Creatures heads explode under the internal pressure of the cognitive dissonance.

      Reply
  • 82. Ronnie  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    http://maddowblog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2010/10/13/5286107-tonight-troops-talk-about-life-under-dadt

    “Tonight: Troops talk about life under DADT”

    “Lately we’ve had a rash of gay bashing, gay suicides, and I look at these kids and think about if I was in their shoes when I was 15, 16, 17, 18 years old…..

    It does make a difference that the government has a policy that says you are not good enough to serve in the U.S. military.”

    “These are profound interviews, about a profound story, from troops who know they’re putting their careers on the line for talking to us. Be there at 9 p.m. Eastern.”

    <3…Ronnie

    Reply
    • 83. Bob  |  October 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

      finally troops speaking out, putting their careers on the line,,,, waiting for this,,,,,,,,,

      I’m wondering why the striaght allies in the military don’t speak up, they wouldn’t loose thier jobs, bullying and abuse affect all those in the military, not just LGBT but everyone, is exposed to it, and either adheres to silence or denial, where bullying exists to such an extreme everyones life is demeaned.

      Where are those people who are straight, that have a sense of dignity and justice, they must speak up about the effect it has on their own souls, the price they pay for silence.

      come on straight allies start a movement. crush DADT

      Reply
      • 84. fiona64  |  October 13, 2010 at 3:22 pm

        I’ll tell you why, Bob. Because it is a violation of the UCMJ to criticize the chain of command.

        Seriously.

        And, as someone who was a DoD whistleblower … I can tell you that while you may not lose your job, they can sure as hell make your life miserable of you stand up and speak out.

        Been there. Done that. Told my boss off over one of the finest military journalists who had ever worked for me being thrown out under DADT. And yes, my life was made miserable.

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
      • 85. Bob  |  October 13, 2010 at 3:55 pm

        Thanks fiona64 for sharing that story, you are my hero, and it clarifies the difficulty of the situation, the chain of command must have the ability to make life hell………

        sorry you had to endure that, your experience is proof that others are affected , you were compelled to speak up, and your boss felt compellled to make your life miserable in order to keep you quiet, and the guy was still thrown out.

        Just goes to show what a razors edge the military must be walking right now, I mean all of them, not to mention the flack the troops must be getting from those allies working with them from other countries who serve openly, the U.S. military has got to be at the cracking point, and the pressure builds.

        not a safe environment…. so is there a way in that environment to express a position, without directly opposing the chain of command. I mean a way for the troops to send a message jointly and anonimously, but loudly and clearly???

        Reply
      • 86. Chris in Lathrop  |  October 13, 2010 at 4:10 pm

        Further, the troops (Marines or sailors, if you rather) are all told they’re there to defend democracy, not to practice it. Plus, criticism of the chain of command actually does cause a breakdown in military discipline.

        Fiona, I applaud you! I’d have done the same and endured the same, had I been in your position. Had I still been serving and been ordered to either Afghanistan or Iraq, I would have protested that, too. I’m a little too much of a troublemaker to have made it long. ;)

        Reply
    • 87. JonT  |  October 13, 2010 at 6:13 pm

      Like others (Jonathan H?) I don’t do TV anymore. But once it’s up on the net, I’ll watch it! Thanks Ronnie.

      Reply
  • 88. rosebud  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    This is disgusting. Drunk idiots who are either homophobes or completely stupid to how their actions can affect even people they never meet. It makes me sick that anyone would write or sing a song like this.

    But I want to say, as a heterosexual, I am not in this video. I would never sing such a hateful song like this. I correct people every time I hear them say hurtful things such as “that’s so gay”. I am heterosexual and I am not a hateful person- and there are millions of heterosexuals who are just like me in that regard. I am on your side and come to this site almost daily looking for news on the Prop8 trial. I want to see equality in the United States (in all the world). I never want to read about another teenager bullied into suicide, or another family destroyed by homophobia. But I feel like I sometimes don’t belong here when I read some of the comments left. Please remember that some people (all kinds of people) have hate/ignorance in their hearts. I try to live a life based on love for everyone based on who they are. Don’t put me in the same category as the idiots in this video just because of my sexuality.

    Reply
    • 89. fiona64  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:53 pm

      There are many straight allies here — I am one of them.

      I don’t think there’s anyone here who believes that their straight allies are the same as the morons in this video.

      Love,
      Fiona

      Reply
      • 90. fern  |  October 13, 2010 at 5:23 pm

        Why thank you! This attitude is the world over at some soccer games in Brussels they had to call the military, water trucks, assault rifles and all, it’s getting better now the military awaits them at the train station escorts them to the game where they’re put in cages, then escorted back to the train, everything is video taped, the worst are the British and the Germans. In bars in Brussels most people talk about soccer when I’m approached on that subject I always ask how many wounded and it ends the conversation.
        My argument is the lack of education but sometime some question me saying that how come I didn’t go to school and yet I educated myself and I’ve got no good answer, it’s a little like why are you gay, we also are the product of our social environment, how come I’m not.
        Had I remained at the level of my earlier environment I could have been one of these guys we saw on Utube.
        Have a nice day and give ’em hell.

        Reply
    • 91. Joe  |  October 14, 2010 at 9:52 pm

      The ranks of the straight supporters grows every day. And I really never understood the homophobia.

      1. I have never had a gay person come on to me more than once, and never in any vulgar way.

      2. The stereotype gay man; style conscious, well-groomed, sensitive, compassionate, intelligent, is everything most women want in a man, and these gentlemen have the decency to make themselves unavailable to women so that uncouth louts like me can have a fighting chance. We straight men should be thanking them.

      Sorry just trying to add some humor.

      Reply
      • 92. fiona64  |  October 15, 2010 at 3:36 pm

        Joe, I had someone ask me (on the SacBee) what I would do if a lesbian asked me out, stating that surely I would be appalled and lash out.

        My response: Well, considering that it has happened, it’s an easy question to answer. I said “I am flattered at your interest, but must decline.” Same thing I have said to men in whom I was not interested but who asked me out. The lady in question was not offended; she asked if I was straight, and when I said yes, she thanked *me* for not being offended. Why on earth would I be offended at someone finding me attractive and interesting, even if I don’t feel the same way in return? It’s a compliment.

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
  • 93. Ronnie  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    This was posted earlier on Freedom Fighters for EqualityThis link to a new song by an artist named Heather Mae Ford..I don’t I’ve ever heard of her…but I love this song, its dedication,& its purpose…She has a cool vibe & sound..I’m going to look for more from her…Here are the lyrics & a link to the audio…<3…Ronnie:

    http://www.goodasyou.org/good_as_you/2010/10/audio-an-other-one.html

    "Other People"

    “He was great,” she told reporters,
    “I wish I could have helped in some small way.”
    The thing is, she passed him in the hallway
    Without a shred of all this sympathy.
    The prom king said he was surprised
    As if he’d known the guy himself.
    Now he champions this latest cause
    With friends who put the kid through hell.

    Saying: Aren’t other people awful?
    Shouldn't have someone done something?
    Aren’t other people awful?
    Guess it’s easier to do nothing.

    Today the student body grieves
    The same that spurned and kicked and spit.
    And they mourn a candle they’ve snuffed out
    But never fought to keep it lit.
    They deny they’ve made this martyr,
    It was his own blood that he spilled,
    And they pretend they loved him all along
    To assuage their killer’s guilt.

    Saying: Aren’t other people awful?
    Shouldn't have someone done something?
    Aren’t other people awful?
    Guess it’s easier to do nothing.

    It takes one look, it takes one hand
    It takes one daring final stand
    We can smash walls with just a touch
    When brittle words are not enough
    Hold firm until the light of day
    Or else we’ll keep on sadly saying

    Aren’t other people awful?
    Shouldn't have someone done something?
    Aren’t other people awful?
    Guess it’s easier to do nothing.
    Aren’t other people awful?
    Shouldn't have someone done something?
    Aren’t other people awful?
    Guess it’s easier to do nothing.

    Reply
    • 94. Ronnie  |  October 13, 2010 at 2:57 pm

      This is the dedication…..<3…Ronnie:

      "I dedicate this song to Seth Walsh, Raymond Chase, Justin Aaberg, Billy Lucas, Asher Brown, Tyler Clementi, and all those in the LGBT community that have ever been affected by cruelty or harassment. You are a human being and you do not deserve that. You are not alone and it gets better."

      Reply
  • 95. Chris in Lathrop  |  October 13, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    What a horrible shame! Sickening just doesn’t go far enough in describing these so-called fans’ behavior.

    I personally would have fetched a member of stadium security willing to do something about it, complained to stadium management, something. Yet, obviously the Yankees don’t feel it’s a big enough problem to have warranted a response.

    You know, if they’d been singing “Why are you black?” instead of “Why are you gay?”, something would have been done. I think it’s time to take this beyond the Yankees and complain to MLB itself. Commissioner Selig, where are you?

    Reply
    • 96. Chris in Lathrop  |  October 13, 2010 at 4:02 pm

      Unfortunately, fan feedback to MLB is limited to 500 characters in the message. I had to butcher my original comment to make it fit, but here it is:

      Subject: Homophobia in Yankee Stadium

      Dear Commissioner Selig,

      I became aware today of a tradition at Yankee Stadium of a homophobic parody of the Village People’s “Y.M.C.A.” being used to intimidate fans. I include a link to a video which transcribes what these so-called fans are singing. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gpq4RKYd4wQ

      I ask, please, that something be done about this bullying of fans. If their song were racial in nature, something would already have been done, wouldn’t it?

      Sincerely,
      Christopher Gordin

      Reply
  • 97. Michael  |  October 13, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Many heterosexuals use anti-gay slurs as jokes and insults to keep other males in line. As all gay males know, this causes a great deal of distress, frustration, pain and mental torture to most of us. It’s not funny, it’s sickening. This is the culture we have to change. Our lives depend on it.

    Reply
    • 98. Dave in ME  |  October 14, 2010 at 4:53 am

      I wonder, though about that sometimes. Yes, there are very awful things said between straight guys, but what about lesser awful things, like “Bottle deposits are gay.” How bad is that? If a gay person isn’t bothered by it is it still bad? Does the increasing hyper-awareness of such comments cause damage when damage didn’t happen before?

      I mean, if we keep saying how hurtful those comments are, then won’t more people be hurt by them than before? Are we helping to create a climate of victimhood?

      Again, I’m not talking about situations like the YRU Gay song, but those little comments that are said by people without thinking.

      Dave in Maine

      Reply
      • 99. Chris in Lathrop  |  October 14, 2010 at 1:09 pm

        You may be right about that, Dave, but I think the flip side of the coin is people thinking it’s alright to use the term that way. Obviously, it’s a disapproving word, no matter what they mean exactly (I know there’s got to be regional differences in the connotation). I know it probably tires some people out, but if you substitute the work “black” for “gay” in those situations… well, it makes it pretty clear to me.

        Reply
      • 100. Rhie  |  October 15, 2010 at 10:49 pm

        It is important to stop the small jokes because a person who says “that show is so gay” is normalizing homophobia whether he knows it or not. LGBT who say it is ok have internalized homophobia, and are trying to say it’s ok so it doesn’t hurt.

        It’s not creating a culture of victimhood. I don’t even know what that means, actually. I see it get thrown around a lot by people who want to tell women that they get themselves raped and tell LGBT they get themselves beat up and tell people of color they get themselves yelled at. Basically, it’s a phrase that wraps up victim blaming in smart-sounding words.

        But that’s all it is: victim blaming. It means that LGBT and anyone else who is a legitimate victim of institutionalized prejudice is just letting themselves be hurt. They should just buck up and ignore it or laugh at it. That’s bullshit.

        Do you honestly believe that it stops at calling tv shows gay? It internalizes and normalizes the idea that gay people are nothing, a joke. The person who says that is the same person who nods along when people tell a kid that they shouldn’t let bullying bother them. They are the same person that joins in ridicule of a LGBT who tries to stand up for themselves. They are the person the people in the Bleacher Creature video quote as their gay friend, that they use to defend their idiocy.

        The small things matter. That’s where and how hearts and minds begin to change.

        Reply
  • 101. Adrian Fii  |  October 13, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    I couldn’t watch all of that. It made me sick to my stomach…
    Honestly, this is what happens when the governments says that people aren’t people and don’t deserve basic rights, that they’re less than human.
    It’s sickening.

    Reply
  • 102. Chad  |  October 13, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    I say we start showing up at the games with whistles, and start blowin them when these freaks start in with their crap. Then, everyone in the crowd who simpathizes with us start crowding around them until they’re outnumber, and proceed to administer them a taste of their own medicine.

    Reply
  • 103. fern  |  October 14, 2010 at 7:40 am

    In the comments I read a lot of “getting a group together and shout them down”. By doing this you would lower yourselves to their level, there is such a thing as crowd psychology, in a crowd a person is totally different.
    Corner one of these “creatures” alone (one on one) you tell him you heard him sing, ask him to sing it again because you’re gay, you’ll see that “creature” melt like butter and apologize. I never felt comfortable in a crowd and avoid it like the plague.

    Reply
  • 104. Anonygrl  |  October 14, 2010 at 8:18 am

    I would like to attend the game and stand up when they start this nonsense and, in a strong, mother is mad at you voice, say “You should be ashamed of yourself. Ashamed! Sit down now and behave like a human being!” and stare them down.

    I think if enough people simply did that, said “Sit down now, and behave yourselves!” and then stood there stared them in the eye with arms folded, that might be effective.

    Reply
  • 105. elliom  |  October 14, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Reply
  • 106. KCC  |  October 16, 2010 at 1:07 am

    it is because of this that most teens don’t even bother to come out for fear off being treated like nothing but a punching bag or a side walk to get stepped on repeatedly all day long every day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Support the Prop 8 Trial Tracker

Connect with us

Get to know your fellow Prop 8 Trial Trackers on Facebook.

Please send tips to prop8trial@couragecampaign.org

Follow us on Twitter @EqualityOnTrial

Sign-up for updates on the Prop 8 trial, including breaking-news alerts.

Categories

TWITTER: Follow us @EqualityOnTrial

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Share this

Bookmark and Share

SITE STATS (by Wordpress)

  • 4,585,293 views of the Tracker and counting as of today...