Golden Oldies open thread, Christmas Eve edition

December 24, 2010 at 11:00 am 35 comments

An original version of this post was published on Sunday, December 19th, 2010. We’ll be having an open thread every night of the week leading up to Christmas for submissions on your favorite pieces of the year.

By Adam Bink

Over at my home blog, OpenLeft.com, we on the management team like to take the holidays off to rest, recharge, etc. While folks are often driven to write anyway because of current events or inspiration, what we do to keep things lively is feature past pieces that our readers particularly like. We call them “Golden Oldies”.

My tenure running the shop here ends on Christmas, as I plan to recharge as well (and travel), although I may continue at some point in the future. In the meantime, I decided to bring the same idea to P8TT. For the upcoming holiday season between Christmas and New Year’s, I’ll be re-posting some of the more interesting/provocative/brilliant front page pieces from P8TT’s history. The reason is because not everyone has a chance to read every piece throughout the year. As many of you know, if you Google “Prop 8 Trial”, it takes you here, and many folks who came here because they did that during the 9th Circuit hearing, or simply because they just heard about the blog, haven’t had a chance to read some of the better, more insightful pieces from the blog’s history.

So, we’d like to open up the floor to you to recommend your favorite stuff. It could be live-blogging from the Judge Walker’s district courthouse. It could be NOM tour posts, whether the national tour or the California tour. It could be a commentary piece you find particularly insightful that I did, or Eden, Julia, Rob, Jeremy Hooper, Karen Ocamb, Arisha, Rick, or someone else. Just leave a URL in the comments and we’ll pick the best suggestions. And of course, the management has ideas of our own.

To help you find the URLs, I recommend using the Categories “tags” on the right side of the page you’re currently viewing (they say Community/Meta, DADT Trial… NOM Tour Tracker… etc.). And if you want to go back to find earlier posts beyond the page you’re viewing, scroll down to the bottom and hit the “Older Posts” button. You can keep doing that to scroll back and back. Or, you could just use Google, and I recommend inserting the words “Prop 8 Trial Tracker” in your query along with whatever terms you remember, such as the author or topic. If you simply can’t find it, try asking your fellow P8TTers to help in the comments. And if you like someone’s nomination, be sure to leave a comment “second!” or “third!” or whatnot so we know what the good stuff is. An example is here.

I’ll be asking you as an open thread each night throughout the week leading up to Christmas.

So, what are your favorites?

Entry filed under: Community/Meta.

Happy holidays, P8TTers! You Can’t Turn the Lights Off

35 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann S.  |  December 24, 2010 at 11:04 am

    §

    Reply
    • 2. Kathleen  |  December 24, 2010 at 1:27 pm

      me, too.

      Reply
      • 3. JonT  |  December 24, 2010 at 2:37 pm

        Reply
        • 4. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  December 25, 2010 at 8:00 am

          subs

          Reply
  • 5. Richard A. Jernigan  |  December 24, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Clicking the box would help!

    Reply
  • 6. Kate  |  December 24, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Seriously OT — but there are several folks here who expressed interest in seeing some of my Tanzania photos from our trip last month. And the book is ready! Just click on my name above to see it online.

    Reply
    • 7. Kate  |  December 24, 2010 at 11:51 am

      IGNORE ABOVE. They sent me the wrong link. I’ll fix it and let you know.

      Reply
      • 8. Kate  |  December 24, 2010 at 11:53 am

        OK. Now it’s fixed.

        Reply
        • 9. Lodi Gal  |  December 24, 2010 at 3:21 pm

          Hope you don’t mind that I peeked at your photos, Kate. Outstanding photography work. Where were those photos of the flamingos taken? Lake Manyara? Ngorongoro?

          Reply
          • 10. Kate  |  December 24, 2010 at 4:16 pm

            Mind??? Lodi Gal, I’m THRILLED that you wanted to look at them! Those flamingos were at Lake Manyara, although we also saw some at Ngorongoro. Sounds as though you’ve been there????

          • 11. Lodi Gal  |  December 24, 2010 at 4:53 pm

            Yes, I was in Tanzania in 2006 for the Great Migration. Lake Manyara was very low due to a drought, but we saw lots of flamingos in Ngorongoro Crater. Your book shows some animals that I missed. You must have been all over the place. Visiting Africa really is a life changing experience. I’d go back in a heartbeat.

          • 12. Kate  |  December 24, 2010 at 4:54 pm

            Lodi Gal, I’d like to hear more about your trip. How can I e-mail you?

          • 13. Lodi Gal  |  December 24, 2010 at 5:12 pm

            You can contact me at admin@lodiwire.com My website is no longer active, but I can still get email at that address.

        • 14. Ray in MA  |  December 24, 2010 at 8:07 pm

          Aboslutely Awesome Kate!

          I just came across this yesterday…you may find this interesting… about big cats in Africa:

          http://www.wimp.com/bigcats/

          (lions numbers are declining drastically in Africa…particularly interesting is when male lions are killed, other males come in and take over the pride by killing many of the young, multiplying the desvastation themselves)

          Reply
          • 15. Kate  |  December 24, 2010 at 8:42 pm

            Thank you, Ray! I really appreciate your kind words.

      • 16. Bob  |  December 24, 2010 at 7:17 pm

        WOW!!!!!!!!!!! just WOW amazing pics, thanks so much for sharing, what a great trip,,, loved the photos of the people,,,,,,,,,,, such a diverse amazing planet we live on

        Reply
        • 17. Kate  |  December 24, 2010 at 7:36 pm

          Thank you, Bob!!!!!!!

          Reply
    • 18. Straight For Equality  |  December 24, 2010 at 9:48 pm

      Kate, I loved your pictures! It looks like a very successful trip: you saw so many animals. It looks like you have a good telephoto lens. Lots of wonderful shots! Thanks for sharing.

      Reply
    • 19. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  December 25, 2010 at 7:23 am

      Totally ON TOPIC….what a lovely gift on this holiday! I’ve been worried about our dear Kate as you have been rather silent of late…now I know of at least one cause–you have been putting together and exquisite photographic book…Oh my gosh Kate it is BEAUTIFUL….going to spend much of my work shift today studying viewing, marveling at the photos! Thank you so much! Kate – please email me sometime, I would love an alternate way to reach you gregory dot enke at gmail dot com. Happy Holidays friend : ) Love Gregory

      p.s. anyone else would would like to add me to above email address you are welcome to do so. Its an address I have specifically for P8TT family .

      Reply
      • 20. Kate  |  December 25, 2010 at 8:12 am

        I’ve tried 3 times to post my appreciate to you and Straight for Equality for your kind words and am about to give up….. I’ll try just a short one this time and see if it works, then follow up with more info.

        Reply
        • 21. Kate  |  December 25, 2010 at 8:14 am

          OK — it finally worked. But I had to take the web address off to make it do so. Guess this will take some experimenting. Anyway, I wanted to say that yes, I do have a terrific long lens, but the animals were so close (as you can see by the cheetahs climbing on the truck), that I often had to use my wide angle instead! I never dreamed it would be SO WONDERFUL.

          Reply
          • 22. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  December 25, 2010 at 10:46 am

            LOVELY! LOVELY!!!

  • 23. Sagesse  |  December 24, 2010 at 11:52 am

    There is one post I’d like to see again. I have not been able to find a link, and I’m heading out shortly, but it would have been early in the NOM summer tour. I think it was in Maine. There was a separate equality rally inside the state capitol building, and a young girl, maybe thirteen, gave a wonderful speech about her parents and her family.

    Reply
    • 24. Kathleen  |  December 24, 2010 at 1:28 pm

      That might have been New Jersey

      Reply
    • 25. Ronnie  |  December 24, 2010 at 1:48 pm

      Yeah…that was New Jersey…I was at that town hall meeting to counter NOM….It was from Garden State Equality……<3…Ronnie

      Reply
  • 26. Mandi  |  December 24, 2010 at 11:59 am

    One of my favorites was one of the trial live blogging (not sure which one and am having trouble locating it with my phone) it’s the one where their lawyer told judge walker that they didn’t need any evidence.

    Reply
    • 27. Kathleen  |  December 24, 2010 at 1:29 pm

      I think that might have been the closing arguments in June.

      Reply
  • 28. Ed  |  December 24, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Something to ponder…
    Do ya’ll think Jesus would have approved the use of computers, cars, Iphones, the internet, twitter, tv’s, tv remotes, microwaves, dustbusters, washers and dryers, playstations, radios, electric can openers, etc? But we use those all the time, hence, we evolved. Time to evolve people! Marriage equality *will* happen.

    Reply
    • 29. Ronnie  |  December 24, 2010 at 12:26 pm

      =
      <3…Ronnie

      Reply
  • 30. Rhie  |  December 24, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Watching

    Reply
  • 31. takemusu  |  December 24, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    @Ed, Jesus would not have approved of electric can openers, he also would have wondered why if I have a universal remote I still need 2 remotes to run my TV …

    Reply
  • 32. Ray in MA  |  December 24, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Patti Ellis was one of the most memorable women I encounterd this year on the P8TT:

    http://prop8trialtracker.com/2010/08/14/my-time-documenting-the-nom-tour/

    Her web site:

    http://familyacceptance.com/home.html

    A pre-cursor to “It Gets Better”. (she was ahead of the curve)

    Reply
    • 33. Ray in MA  |  December 24, 2010 at 8:19 pm

      And I just found this:



      Happy Holidays to all of you!

      Reply
      • 34. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  December 25, 2010 at 7:26 am

        LOVELY! Thank you Ray! I loved seeing that again “when you stand between a momma grisly bear and her cubs….”

        Reply
  • 35. Ray in MA  |  December 25, 2010 at 5:33 am

    The Power of Christmas…

    Two New York City men feel a tremendous responsibility to respond properly when they mysteriously receive hundreds of letters addressed to Santa Claus at their Chelsea apartment.

    http://video.nytimes.com/video/2010/12/24/nyregion/1248069482199/miracle-on-22nd-street.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Support the Prop 8 Trial Tracker

Connect with us

Get to know your fellow Prop 8 Trial Trackers on Facebook.

Please send tips to prop8trial@couragecampaign.org

Follow us on Twitter @EqualityOnTrial

Sign-up for updates on the Prop 8 trial, including breaking-news alerts.

Categories

TWITTER: Follow us @EqualityOnTrial

Share this

Bookmark and Share

SITE STATS (by Wordpress)

  • 4,585,303 views of the Tracker and counting as of today...