Poll: New Yorkers support the freedom to marry by record margin

January 27, 2011 at 7:03 am 92 comments

By Adam Bink

We’re blessed with having a bevy of polling outfits in my home state of New York. Sometimes it means overkill, like when an average of 4.25 polls per week on the New York Governor’s race came out every week from September 27th through Election Day last year, when it was clear Cuomo would win in a landslide, while competitive House races remained largely unpolled. But often it’s a good blessing as it helps activists gauge work to do in the state. And often there’s good news.

Today, the Quinnipiac poll, in my opinion quite reliable,  has a new poll showing that by a margin of 56-37%- the highest ever- residents support the freedom of same-sex couples to marry. A June 2009 survey showed a 51-41% margin. It’s also a big shift since 2004, when 55% surveyed were opposed.

Among other interesting numbers, the figures reach 55% support in NYC, 54% in “upstate” (an absurdly imprecise term, but we’re stuck with it) and 61% in the suburbs. Republicans are opposed 41-52%.

The test of time and many years’ hard work in getting us to this point. Now we have the hard work of moving New York State Senators to the right place. For those interested, I wrote a few weeks ago about the optics of how things are looking back in New York State. I’ll say it again- to borrow the motto of the New York State lotto, hey, you never know.

Entry filed under: Marriage equality.

Here’s what Chick-Fil-A defenders don’t understand: The more they shoot the messenger, the more we’re going to dig up new messages! Seizing our national moment

92 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Peterplumber  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:11 am

    ♂♂

    Reply
    • 2. JonT  |  January 27, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      Reply
  • 3. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:11 am

    I was so very surprised when NY did NOT approve same-sex marriage. I am super glad to hear the opinion is turning around! tx 4 update! subs.

    Reply
    • 4. Ann S.  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:15 am

      Yes, sounds like very good news!

      Reply
    • 5. Dave in ME  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:34 am

      Yes, I’m with Gregory!

      Dave in Maine

      Reply
      • 6. grod  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:08 am

        @Dave in Maine
        Hi, what’s being done to get Maine back on board?
        As I recall the vote split, it was in the Northern section of the state that turned the vote against. With SSM on all jurisdictions around you, & not negative impact anywhere, indeed almost indifference; and with NOM discredited with your Commission on Governmental Ethics and Election Practices, an opportunity to advance SSM must be on the horizon

        Reply
        • 7. Dave in ME  |  January 29, 2011 at 6:54 am

          Hi, Grod-

          I think we’re at the “wait and see” point right now. We had 5 people running for governor, two of whom supported marriage equality. Unfortunately, one of those that think marriage is between a man and a woman won.

          That being said, our former governor, John Baldacci, also had a similar point of view, being a Catholic from an Italian family. I know that many people here in Maine feel hopeless on many fronts in regard to the new governor, Paul “Kiss My Butt” LePage, but he’s been in office for less than a month, so, “wait and see.”

          However, EqualityMaine is still doing a lot of groundwork here in the state.

          Dave in Maine

          Reply
    • 8. ben  |  January 27, 2011 at 10:51 am

      We’re the last state to still not pass no-fault divorce! See: albany republican legislative dysfunction.

      Reply
      • 9. fiona64  |  January 27, 2011 at 11:21 am

        New York has the most draconian divorce laws in the country. Seriously. My former co-author is in year *two* of his divorce proceedings.

        Love,
        Fiona

        Reply
  • 10. Sagesse  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:15 am

    :).

    Reply
  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brian J. Heck and Mary Beth Bass, Testimony. Testimony said: Poll: New Yorkers support the freedom to marry by record margin: http://wp.me/pLuL9-2ar […]

    Reply
  • 12. Richard A. Jernigan  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:26 am

    How can we help, Adam? You post the links, emails, phone numbers and so forth, and we are there!

    Reply
    • 13. adambink  |  January 27, 2011 at 12:13 pm

      Thanks Richard. Conversations are ongoing. Getting more legislators onboard is key.

      Reply
  • 14. Kathleen  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Reply
  • 15. Straight Ally #3008  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:40 am

    The disparity between Republicans and Democrats on this issue is really disappointing. There’s nothing “small government” about imposing discriminatory civil policies, although I suppose it’s conservative in the sense of being opposed to change – this is really the only justification the Religious Right has to be infecting the GOP.

    Reply
  • 16. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:43 am

    Yay NY! It actually makes me a little teary eyed to know that more people in my state than support equality.

    I am going to contact Thomas Duane’s office here in Albany and find out if there is anything I can do to help as he is the one who will be introducing the marriage equality legislation again.

    Also Marriage Equality NY is doing a lobbying day on Feb 8th, which I will attend.

    I promise to report back here what I find out about how everyone can help us make this happen here in New York.

    Reply
    • 17. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:49 am

      “more people in my state than support equality.”

      I apparently have typoitis today. That should have been “more people in my state support equality than oppose it.”

      And by an ever increasing margin, too!

      Reply
    • 18. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:49 am

      ::::BIG GRIN:::: for anonygrl’s state!

      Reply
    • 19. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:57 am

      As two of the most populous and influential states, Its thrilling to think of California & NY offering same-sex marriages in the near future : )

      Reply
    • 20. Str8 AlEye Mikael  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:56 am

      Feb 8’s my bday! Do you know if there’s going to be a satellite event of any kind in the city?

      Reply
      • 21. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm

        I don’t believe so, but check MENY ‘s website. And why not come on up to Albany for the day and make legislators wish you a Happy Birthday!

        Reply
  • 22. Peterplumber  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:47 am

    I was born in NYC, but my family moved to Connecticut when I was just 4 years old. But the extended family is still in New York, and I know they are all supportive of me & my partner.
    I noticed a facebook post by one of my cousins not too long ago. She told a story of her daughter asking if she could marry another girl, and she replied, “of course you can”!
    Yay!

    Reply
    • 23. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:49 am

      What a lovely, sweet story! Thanks for sharing!

      Reply
    • 24. Ann S.  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:55 am

      Yay!

      Reply
    • 25. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:58 am

      : D

      Reply
    • 26. Richard A. Jernigan  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:07 am

      Peterplumber, it is interesting that you mention Connecticut. BZ and I will always hold a special place in our hearts for Connecticut. Especially the town of Westbrook, where we were married on November 18! The ladies in the Town clerk’s office were so sweet, and they only added to the joy of our wedding day. When I asked for a marriage license, the way those ladies sprang into action, you would have thought they were the ones getting married.

      Reply
      • 27. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:16 am

        Yay! : D

        Reply
      • 28. Peterplumber  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:24 am

        I wish I still lived there. I had a nice house in Stafford Springs. (Northeast Conn.) It was a small town and people were friendly. When I was out & about in town, even if I didn’t know the people by name, I knew the faces, because it was that type of community. I lived in Stafford (as an adult, meaning after I left my Mom’s nest) for 20 years.

        My work has taken me on a tour of the country. After I left Conn, I went to Harrisburg, PA. I felt so alone there, not knowing ANYone. But it only got worse. After a year in Harrisburg, I went to Trenton, NJ. After a year there, I went to Philly. After 2 years there, I went to Seattle. I hated Trenton and Philly. Brotherly Love??? NOT!! The best thing about Philly is that is where I met Carlson, my partner of 6+ years.

        Seattle was great. We bought a house there and thought we would stay there forever. But the economy crashed hard there and I was forced to seek refuge here in San Diego.

        But Connecticut is still “home” to me, even tho I have not visited there in 4 or more years. I still have many great friends that live there.

        Living this nomadic lifestyle has been hard on me for making friends.

        Reply
        • 29. Sagesse  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:39 am

          Then you’ve come to the right place. This site comes complete with ‘friends’ :).

          Reply
        • 30. Richard A. Jernigan  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:47 am

          As Sagesse said, this site comes complete with friends, and I would also like to add that I hope you and Carlson enjoy at least one decade of happiness and love together for each year you have already been together! And if you two should ever be in the Fayetteville/Ft. Bragg area of NC, look us up!

          Reply
        • 31. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 27, 2011 at 10:02 am

          recommend Seattle or San Diego? plan to relocate sometime after get my job so I can work from home. Do enjoy visiting L.A. and San Diego often though don’t know how it would be to live there….don’t enjoy traveling to Seattle so much : ?

          Reply
          • 32. Peterplumber  |  January 27, 2011 at 10:12 am

            Greg,
            Send me an email
            peter@hotglassworks.com
            So we can talk off outside of this forum.

          • 33. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 27, 2011 at 10:17 am

            tx : )

          • 34. Mark M - Seattle  |  January 27, 2011 at 10:47 am

            Gregory…email me at beargardener@yahoo.com and I can fill you in on Seattle.
            Would love to have you here….but it is an expensive city…however the outter burbs are better/affordable

            Mark

          • 35. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 27, 2011 at 11:11 am

            Hi Mark : D thank you for the welcome and info!

        • 36. Ray in MA  |  January 27, 2011 at 4:56 pm

          You’ll be back… jiust about everyone I know who left New England has returned… I (jokingly) tell people when they leave that they will return… and they eventually always proved me right.

          Reply
          • 37. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 28, 2011 at 7:13 am

            haven’t ruled out MA!

  • 38. Ed  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:49 am

    Here’s what I find interesting. Over at NOM’s blog, there has been no mention of Hawaii’s civil union bill, and almost no mention of Illinois’s civil union bill, and in the past week, very limited mention of Maryland, RI, and NY. Why are they being quiet? Either they have (finally) figured out it’s a lost cause, OR they are planning something big….

    Thoughts?

    Reply
    • 39. Richard A. Jernigan  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:01 am

      They have retreated to the trenches to gear up for their next major assault on humanity and civil rights.

      Reply
    • 40. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:06 am

      My guess (well, ok, HOPE) would be that they do not make a big fuss about fights they KNOW they can’t win. They save their fussing for places they think they can win.

      My fear is that they have some further attack planned. We will wait and see, and do what we need to do if it comes!

      The positive thing is that their last attack (in New Hampshire, saying that the REPUBLICANS who are not pushing pushing the issue are ‘against family values’) was insanely stupid, and only served to cut their own feet out from under themselves.

      Reply
    • 41. John B.  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:07 am

      NOM and other opponents of same-sex marriage never mention ANY poll that doesn’t support their own point of view. Having relied so heavily on the mantra “let the people vote”, I’m sure they’re trying to figure out how to spin things now that they’re realizing how far public opinion has gotten away from them.

      Reply
      • 42. Straight Ally #3008  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:20 am

        Well said, John B. Also, as soon as polls turn against them they will go right to the courts without the slightest twinge of irony.

        Reply
        • 43. nightshayde  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:51 am

          The will of the people must be heard!!!!
          (unless it goes against us)

          Reply
      • 44. Dave in ME  |  January 29, 2011 at 6:55 am

        They’ll claim that the people have been duped by the militant homosexual lobbyists, or some such nonsense…

        Dave in Maine

        Reply
    • 45. nightshayde  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:53 am

      Perhaps they’re looking for suitable stock photos for a new bus tour.

      Reply
      • 46. Mackenzie  |  January 27, 2011 at 12:31 pm

        bahahaha! Love the comment!

        Reply
  • 47. Peterplumber  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:53 am

    UPDATE Mass DOMA cases

    Amicus brief by Eagle Forum Education & Legal Defense Fund in support of reversal of district court decision

    That should be all the amicus briefs for appellants, unless someone requests permission to file late. The deadline was yesterday.

    Reply
    • 48. Ann S.  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:56 am

      Thank you, Peter, for supplying links to all these!

      Reply
      • 49. Peterplumber  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:02 am

        I am happy that I can help. And Kathleen deserves a lot of praise & thanks as well.

        Reply
        • 50. Kathleen  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:07 am

          Don’t worry, Peter. I get plenty of gratitude from this community. :)

          Peter has very kindly stepped forward to help by watching the DOMA cases docket and obtaining new documents when they’re filed. At the moment, at least, we’re still using my Scribd account for uploading these and I’m still here to answer questions.

          Reply
          • 51. Ann S.  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:11 am

            A big P8TT thank you to both of you!

          • 52. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:18 am

            What Ann said… I second!

          • 53. New  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:28 am

            I don’t comment here much but I also have to come out to express my gratitude. THANK YOU, Kathleen. My fiance told me you answered all his many questions about MA DOMA case and we appreciated that. We are always here, quite, but following.
            Thank you P8TT. <3

          • 54. Kathleen  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:31 am

            You’re welcome, New. I’m glad to help where I can.

  • 55. Richard A. Jernigan  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:49 am

    I posted this on the CFA thread, but it bears repeating.
    Thanks a lot to all those who misuse religion to justify attacks on us:

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20110127/ap_on_re_af/af_uganda_gay_activist_slain

    Reply
  • 56. Ronnie  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:03 am

    I love NY…..<3..Ronnie

    Reply
    • 57. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:05 am

      And NY loves you, Ronnie!

      Reply
  • 58. Str8 AlEye Mikael  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:55 am

    Represent! Although I wouldn’t encourage the lotto comparison; it’ll just make reasonable people think the odds are stacked against us ;)

    Adam, if you don’t mind me asking, what city are you located? I’m currently stationed in NYC, but I was born and raised in Rochester! Birthplace of social reform, current record-holder for fattiest state food: the garbage plate. Oh, how times have changed…

    Reply
    • 59. adambink  |  January 27, 2011 at 12:30 pm

      I’m in DC, was born and raised in the Buffalo suburbs, where most of my family still lives, and went to undergrad at U of R. Being a vegetarian I’ve never tried a garbage plate, but maybe one of these days.

      Reply
      • 60. Str8 AlEye Mikael  |  January 27, 2011 at 12:33 pm

        You could probably get it with veggie burgers/dogs and a non-meat based hot sauce, but I suppose that generally defeats the purpose of the awful goodness.

        Reply
      • 61. Rev. Will Fisher  |  January 27, 2011 at 12:52 pm

        51% of chicken wings support marriage equality!!! Extra spicy, please! With blue cheese dressing!

        Reply
        • 62. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

          16% oppose it. The remaining 33% got eaten before they could respond.

          Reply
  • 63. Felyx&Kevyn  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:58 am

    This NY article is a bit of excellent timing… (for me personally!)

    It so turns out that when I come back from Russia sometime in the middle of march, I will be spending a 17 hour layover (give or take) near JFK airport. If there are any NYers our there that want to meet up, hang out, maybe have some dinner or something let me know. I have never been to NY and would love to spend my time there pleasantly… as opposed to staring at a hotel ceiling.

    Our facebook page is up above if anyone is interested in ‘hosting’ me around NY for an evening. Send me a message if anyone is interested and we can talk about the details.

    Thanks!
    Felyx

    Reply
  • 70. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 10:31 am

    OK… so I popped over to see if NOM had taken any notice of the NY poll, and ran across THIS item…

    http://nomblog.com/3939

    Apparently some fire fighters in San Diego were ordered to participate in a gay pride parade, and sued because they dididn’t want to participate.

    OK, fine, whatever, yes they should not have been forced to participate, I have no problem with that.

    What amused the CRAP out of me is that NOM posted, in the middle of there story, THIS:

    http://appellatecases.courtinfo.ca.gov/search/case/disposition.cfm?dist=0&doc_id=1961389

    It is the link to the court website. Once again, NOM is playing copycat, steal the tactic from US… we post court documents, THEY post court documents.

    Let’s run a little tally of things they are trying to *ahem* co-opt from us…

    civil rights
    rainbows and a “rainbow coallition” (from their Storm commercial)
    being the victim of bullying
    live blogging
    posting court docs
    real people in videos about the importance of marriage (OK, that was the Ruth Institute, but Courage Campaign was doing it first, as you all may recall)
    marriage (in states where we have it, they are trying to take it away)
    the Civil Rights Movement

    I am sure I am leaving off tons of things that they have seen us doing and then tried to do and claim as their own…

    And, to top it all off, what in the HELL do Firefighters not wanting to march in a parade have to do with protecting marriage, NOM? Nothing at all. So stop the nonsense with the whole “We are not anti-gay” rhetoric… it really, really doesn’t fly.

    Reply
    • 71. Ann S.  |  January 27, 2011 at 10:37 am

      what in the HELL do Firefighters not wanting to march in a parade have to do with protecting marriage, NOM? Nothing at all.

      It’s part of the argument of “let’s not make it accepted or normal or anything, cuz then horrible things will happen, like churches being forced to marry people (we know that’s not true of course) and OMB firefighters being forced to be in a parade”.

      Now, I agree that it’s not a great idea to force someone to be in a parade for something they’re against, although I suppose it happens from time to time.

      But you’re right, it really isn’t about marriage, as you quite correctly point out. It’s about their “let’s keep LGBT people separate and not equal and in the closet” lifestyle.

      Reply
    • 72. Gregory in Salt Lake City  |  January 27, 2011 at 10:39 am

      touche! it really, really doesn’t fly

      Reply
  • 74. Ronnie  |  January 27, 2011 at 10:38 am

    “This is the last vestige of institutionalized bigotry that’s left in this country, and we need to get rid of it.” ~ Robert F. Kennedy Jr. in his new PSA speaking out for Marriage Equality……<3…Ronnie:

    Reply
  • 75. Ronnie  |  January 27, 2011 at 11:29 am

    WATCH: HUNDREDS OF LONG ISLAND HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS HOLD RALLY DEMANDING GAY-STRAIGHT ALLIANCE
    http://www.towleroad.com/2011/01/gsa.html

    Just over a week ago Long Island Valley Stream South High School approved of the GSA (Gay Straight Alliance) program for their school….This rally took place before the approval was confirmed…..

    YES!!…More examples of the amazing & courageous youth of this country demanding that their voices be heard…200 students…TWO HUNDRED!!!!….NEW YORK!!!!!!…….<3…Ronnie:

    Reply
  • 76. Kathleen  |  January 27, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Some scenes from last December’s hearing at the 9th Circuit

    Reply
  • 77. Rhie  |  January 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Watchin

    Reply
  • 78. anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Sorry… another OT post… but this one is VERY IMPORTANT!!!

    Here is the story: http://nomblog.com/3940/

    And HERE is the quote:

    “If two homosexual men want to use in vitro fertilization to conceive a baby and then use genetics echnology to ensure the baby is also “gay,” while disposing of any “straight” embryos, would the law have any ethical problems with that?”

    So… NOM… what you are saying here is that HOMOSEXUALITY IS GENETIC????

    Which, of course, makes it immutable. Which, of course, makes it a suspect class. Which, of course NEGATES EVERY LEGAL REASON YOU PUT FORWARD FOR DENYING SAME SEX MARRIAGE.

    Sorry about the shouting, but I think we are done here, NOM. Pick up your marbles and go home.

    Reply
    • 79. bJason  |  January 27, 2011 at 12:49 pm

      OH CRAP (yelling with you, not at you :) )!!!!

      I think you are right!! This should be it!

      Great catch!

      Reply
    • 80. Mark M - Seattle  |  January 27, 2011 at 1:25 pm

      WOW!!!
      Thanks for posting that!

      Reply
    • 81. Sagesse  |  January 27, 2011 at 2:00 pm

      When you do that much spinning, sometimes you get dizzy?

      Maroons.

      Reply
    • 82. Felyx&Kevyn  |  January 27, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      So NOM has no creativity to come up with their own news, presentation style, logical independent thought or promotional methods… other than ‘NOM Bus Tour Fail Unlimited™’… so what else is new!

      The important part is that they “ain’t got nuttin’!” Pitiful attempts at imitation just emphasize their desperation and stupidity. Never underestimate the ability of small minds to waste large sums of time and money.

      I console myself that after this is all over there will be a few less wealthy ‘Christo-Fascists’ (as Ronnie has so aptly described them) to tamper with the lives of others… sigh.

      Love to P8TT!

      F&K

      Reply
    • 83. Manilow  |  January 27, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      Wait – if homosexuality is genetic, how can I pray it away? How can it be electro-shocked away? What retreat can I go to where my genetics can be saved in Jesus’ eyes?

      Reply
    • 84. Sheryl Carver  |  January 27, 2011 at 4:42 pm

      Thanks anonygrl!

      Just in case they realize what they’ve done & try to scrub it, I took screen shots & saved the page as a PDF. It’s harder to succesfully rewrite one’s statements if other people have copies of the original. :-) :-)

      Reply
    • 85. Straight Dave  |  January 27, 2011 at 6:06 pm

      Anonygrl,
      how far from Albany are you? My sister lives in Ballston Lake. I see her a couple times a year? I live in MA. just curious

      Reply
      • 86. Anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 6:12 pm

        I am IN Albany… just blocks away from the plaza where those big tall buildings are downtown.

        Reply
        • 87. Kathleen  |  January 27, 2011 at 6:14 pm

          If Anonygrl and Straight Dave get to meet each other before I get to meet either of you, I will be soooo jealous.

          Reply
          • 88. Straight Dave  |  January 27, 2011 at 6:23 pm

            Yer on the wrong coast, Kathleen. It’s likely yer gonna lose. But in all seriousness, I would love to meet you in person, Kathleen. Really!! Anytime, anywhere.
            BTW- The gay son of my neighbor now lives in West Hollywood. Is that in your territory?

          • 89. Anonygrl  |  January 27, 2011 at 6:27 pm

            You just need to get your butt on a plane and come visit me, Kathleen. And Dave can come too, so we can all meet at the same time!!

          • 90. Kathleen  |  January 27, 2011 at 6:32 pm

            Yes, I’m not far from WeHo, though my ultra boring suburban neighborhood feels like a world away.

            I’m definitely going to have to figure out a way to visit. :)

          • 91. Dave in ME  |  January 29, 2011 at 7:03 am

            I grew up in THE Valley and then in the South Bay (818 then 310). Which boring suburban neighborhood are you in?

            I sure miss L.A. during these dark, cold, snow-filled days here in Maine…

  • 92. Manilow  |  January 27, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    I’m having issues subscribing to this post. Trying again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Support the Prop 8 Trial Tracker

Connect with us

Get to know your fellow Prop 8 Trial Trackers on Facebook.

Please send tips to prop8trial@couragecampaign.org

Follow us on Twitter @EqualityOnTrial

Sign-up for updates on the Prop 8 trial, including breaking-news alerts.

Categories

TWITTER: Follow us @EqualityOnTrial

Share this

Bookmark and Share

SITE STATS (by Wordpress)

  • 4,585,301 views of the Tracker and counting as of today...