An odd choice, but an ultimately worthy spokesperson for equality

May 9, 2011 at 6:00 am Leave a comment

By Adam Bink

Perusing through my morning reading, which included catching up on last night’s NBA and hockey action (the Red Wings stayed alive, and the Lakers got smashed, and unfortunately took it in bad form), I came across this (note the third bullet under NHL HEADLINES):

For those of you who aren’t hockey fans, Sean Avery of the NY Rangers was actually voted Most Hated Player in the league (I still harbor grudges against him for his behavior in the 2oo7 Eastern Conference Semifinals against by Sabres), so it’s odd to see him trotted out with this video:

At least, that was my general opinion when I saw the video for the first time last night. But seeing this on ESPN.com — and perhaps it’s being played on SportsCenter this morning as I type — just strikes such a chord. The audience reach is so tremendous. A quick Google search tells me it’s also up at Yahoo! Sports, Bleacherreport, NYTimes, and Forbes.com. So while I think there are probably some fans who may actually be more likely to oppose same-sex marriage just to piss off Sean Avery, just having people watch the video and think about the issue, I think, is tremendous enough to outweigh the costs.

There are, as of this post, 476 comments on the ESPN news item, some of them as follows:

adam_harrison_nashvegas (5/7/2011 at 4:55 PM)

Constitutional rights exist to protect the rights of life. So underlying, yes, constitutional rights have something to do with biology. But more importantly, constitutional rights have to do with morals. The “rights” you speak of are God-given, the only objective rights that logically can exist. And that’s really the greater argument against homosexuality, and gay marriage as well. Homosexuality is not just detrimental to life on a biological level, it is much more harmful on a moral level. It redefines what a word (marriage) means and is. It’d be akin to me legalizing heroin by rewording it to “bread” or “water”. We’ll just call this thing something it’s not to not discriminate against the heroin users. Don’t you see how ridiculous and wrong that is? Gay marriage is a lie. It’s a contradiction in terms. It’s immoral. It’s unnatural. And it’s harmful to society. No, I don’t support “gay marriage”. Considering it doesn’t and can’t truly exist, I can’t defend its’ constitutional rights.

On the other hand, there are also some comments such as this:

spride (5/8/2011 at 5:33 PM)

I’ve always hated Avery as a hockey player (How could you not?) But I have much more respect for him today than I did yesterday. Maybe it will help other professional athletes cross the stupid machismo line and support equality as well.

I wrote:

Adam Bink (5/9/2011 at 7:27 AM)
Good for Sean. I am a gay man and diehard hockey fan who wants nothing more than what my peers have: the freedom to marry the person I love and am committed to supporting. Civil unions cannot provide the federal rights nor preserve dignity when one day my niece asks me why I’m not married like her mommy and daddy if I love my partner just the same.
You can leave a comment on the piece here. People actually do read them, as there is an debate in the comments over morals the nature of homosexuality and all that.

Entry filed under: Marriage equality.

A Mother’s Day gift of marriage Should we Push for Marriage or Compromise on Civil Unions? May 9th Marriage News Watch

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Support the Prop 8 Trial Tracker

Connect with us

Get to know your fellow Prop 8 Trial Trackers on Facebook.

Please send tips to prop8trial@couragecampaign.org

Follow us on Twitter @EqualityOnTrial

Sign-up for updates on the Prop 8 trial, including breaking-news alerts.

Categories

TWITTER: Follow us @EqualityOnTrial

Share this

Bookmark and Share

SITE STATS (by Wordpress)

  • 4,585,288 views of the Tracker and counting as of today...